Advanced Clinicals 10% Glycolic Acid + Lactic Acid Face Serum 1.75 fl oz amber dropper bottle
Good choice for Rough Texture
What makes this different

Among thirteen-dollar exfoliants it is unusually serious: glycolic and lactic acids in second and third place, buffered but boosted by a penetration enhancer, a small salicylic acid assist, licorice for pigment and a fragrance-free base with real antioxidants. Its weakness is the same as its strength, a dose and delivery system that the 'apply daily' instruction underestimates.

Advanced Clinicals

Advanced Clinicals 10% Glycolic Acid + Lactic Acid Face Serum Review

Strong Acid, Small Price Exfoliants serum drugstore Paraben free Fungal-acne safe Cruelty free Vegan

A genuinely potent, fragrance-free glycolic-lactic serum with a salicylic assist, licorice and antioxidants, for thirteen dollars a full bottle. It smooths and brightens fast and fades marks over a couple of months, and it will punish anyone who follows the label's 'daily' on a face that is not ready. The penetration enhancer and the undisclosed pH make it stronger than its price bracket usually is, for better and worse.

Price $12.99 1.75 fl oz / 52 mL
Shopper rating 4.5 ★★★★★ 750 reviews
On the market 2020 Made in United States
Buy at Amazon ♥
Verdicts

How well it fits each concern

Roughly 750 Amazon ratings over six years show a serum most users find effective and a minority find too harsh, which fits its formula, but Advanced Clinicals has not disclosed the pH or the acid split behind its 10 percent claim and has published no testing of the finished product. The evaluation therefore reads the ingredient order, including the penetration enhancer, against the established literature on glycolic, lactic and salicylic acids, and weighs that alongside the user record rather than any verified outcome data.

One verdict per concern. Open a row for the reasoning; the receipt has every source.

The scaleRecommendedGoodSupportingEarly evidenceNot for thisAvoidhow it works

Good choicefor Rough TextureGlycolic Acid is a reference standard by mechanism for rough texture; this serum carries it high in the ingredient list.Receipt2 sources on the row · concentration not declared; studied range 4–10% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R5, same reading on 9,843 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Glycolic Acid is a reference standard by mechanism for this concern — an established physical action, not a trial result.
  2. It is present at an effective concentration, declared or high in the ingredient list.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Limited evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

Same rule for everyone. “Good choice” is the verdict on 10,340 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R5 decided 9,843 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All rough texture products →How rough texture is treated →

Good choicefor DullnessGlycolic Acid is a reference standard by mechanism for dullness; this serum carries it high in the ingredient list.Receipt1 source on the row · concentration not declared; studied range 4–10% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R5, same reading on 9,843 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Glycolic Acid is a reference standard by mechanism for this concern — an established physical action, not a trial result.
  2. It is present at an effective concentration, declared or high in the ingredient list.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Limited evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

Same rule for everyone. “Good choice” is the verdict on 10,340 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R5 decided 9,843 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All dullness products →How dullness is treated →

Promisingfor HyperpigmentationGlycolic Acid has trial-level evidence for hyperpigmentation but no guideline or regulatory standing yet — promising, short of a recommendation; the other actives here are not yet assessed for it.Receipt2 sources on the row · concentration not declared; studied range 5–10% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R9p, same reading on 4,872 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Glycolic Acid has at least one trial behind it for this concern but no guideline or regulatory standing yet.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Moderate evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

Cautions: a photosensitising active — use sun protection.

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Promising” is the verdict on 4,872 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R9p decided 4,872 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All hyperpigmentation products →How hyperpigmentation is treated →

Strong choicefor BlackheadsSalicylic Acid is an approved or monograph active for blackheads; this serum carries it, though the concentration is not declared.Receipt21 CFR § 333.350 - Labeling of acne drug products. (opened Jul 27, 2026) · concentration not declared; studied range 0.5–2% · row checked Jul 27, 2026 · rule R3, same reading on 570 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Salicylic Acid is an approved or monograph active for this concern.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Moderate evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

Cautions: fungal-acne triggers.

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Strong choice” is the verdict on 1,475 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R3 decided 570 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All blackheads products →How blackheads is treated →

Unprovenfor Keratosis PilarisGlycolic Acid has early or mechanistic evidence for keratosis pilaris — a reasonable bet, not a recommendation; the other actives here are not yet assessed for it.Receipt2 sources on the row · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R9, same reading on 4,156 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Glycolic Acid has early or mechanistic evidence for this concern, not trial-backed standing.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Limited evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Unproven” is the verdict on 4,156 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R9 decided 4,156 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All keratosis pilaris products →How keratosis pilaris is treated →

A verdict is Dermington’s assessment of how well a product’s ingredients fit a concern — never a claim about what the product treats. Evidence dots and collected reviews sit beside it and are never blended in. Rules 0.5.1 · evidence table ev-2026.10-r231 · engine 5.2.0 · how we decide · this product’s receipt

Reader poll · Town SquareQuestion 1 of up to 3

Have you used 10% Glycolic Acid + Lactic Acid Face Serum?

One tap counts. A couple of optional follow-ups come next.

No account neededOne answer each, change it any timeCounted only in anonymous totalsHow the Square counts →
Assessment

Pros & cons

What it does well 7

  • Glycolic and lactic acids in second and third place, a real exfoliating dose
  • Small salicylic acid addition extends the reach into pores
  • Licorice root extract adds a tyrosinase-inhibiting brightening thread
  • Fragrance-free, alcohol-free, silicone-free and oil-free
  • Green tea, phytic acid and vitamin E protect freshly exfoliated skin
  • Fast, visible results on texture, dullness and post-blemish marks
  • Thirteen dollars for a 52 mL bottle that lasts months

Where it falls short 6

  • Ethoxydiglycol drives the acids deeper, raising sting and irritation
  • '10 percent' is not defined and the pH is not disclosed
  • The 'apply daily' instruction overstates most skin's tolerance
  • Too strong for sensitive, dry, rosacea-prone or barrier-damaged skin
  • Fruit acid complex is a marketing flourish, not exfoliation
  • Requires strict daily sunscreen the label barely mentions
Review

The full review

Read the reviews for this serum and two products seem to be described. One smooths rough skin in a week, fades acne marks in a month and costs thirteen dollars, and its owners cannot believe their luck. The other stings, flakes and leaves the face red and tight, and its owners feel misled by the word 'gentle' in the description. Both are the same bottle, and the difference between them is not the glycolic acid on the front of the carton but the sixth ingredient on the back: ethoxydiglycol, a solvent used in cosmetics as a penetration enhancer, which takes a buffered 10 percent-class acid blend and drives it deeper than a bare water gel would.

The acids themselves are well chosen. Glycolic acid is second on the list and lactic acid third, a classic pairing that spreads exfoliation across two molecular sizes: the small glycolic penetrates fast and works hardest, the larger lactic follows more slowly and holds water as it goes. Sodium hydroxide, fifth, brings the free acid part-way toward neutral, which is what lets a value brand sell this strength for regular use, and a small salicylic acid dose in tenth place adds an oil-soluble reach into pores that the AHAs lack. The brand says 10 percent and does not say of what, whether glycolic alone or the two acids combined, and it does not say the pH, which is the number that actually decides how much acid is free to act. That silence is typical of Advanced Clinicals and, on an exfoliant, more consequential than usual; the ethoxydiglycol makes it more consequential still.

On skin that suits it, the serum is excellent for the money. Oily, combination and resilient normal skin with rough texture, dullness, blackheads and post-blemish marks gets, within a week or two of two or three spaced nights, a smoother, brighter surface, and within a month or two, with strict sunscreen, visibly faded marks and softer bumps along the jaw and upper arms. Licorice root extract in ninth place adds a small tyrosinase-inhibiting nudge to the brightening, green tea, phytic acid and vitamin E offer antioxidant cover for freshly exposed skin, and there is no fragrance, essential oil, alcohol denat or silicone anywhere on the list. For a leave-on AHA in this price bracket, that is a clean and sensible formula. The sugarcane, lemon and orange extracts billed as a fruit acid complex are a label flourish; glycolic acid is the acid from sugarcane and the purified version in second place supplies hundreds of times more of it than the extract.

The trouble is the instruction. The label says apply a thin layer daily, and the product description calls the exfoliation gentle, and neither is true for most faces in the first month with this formula. A 10 percent-class glycolic-lactic blend with a penetration enhancer is a serious leave-on acid, and the AHA literature is unambiguous that irritation, flaking and barrier damage rise with frequency before they rise with dose. Used nightly from the start on normal or dry skin, it produces exactly the tight, flaky, reddened face the one-star reviews describe. Used two or three nights a week with a moisturizer over it, or under it on dry skin, it is a different product, and a very good one. The brand could have said so on the bottle and chose the bigger claim instead.

That is the pattern with Advanced Clinicals, a US value brand founded in 2004 with two decades of continuous sales through Amazon, Walmart and the off-price chains, no published clinical work and labels on which 'dermatologist tested' means a tolerability panel and 'gentle' means nothing in particular. About 750 Amazon ratings at 4.5 since 2020 confirm the split reception, a large majority delighted and a vocal minority burned, and the split tracks skin type and frequency rather than batch or bottle. The confidence here comes from the AHA literature and the ingredient order, not from any testing of the finished serum, because none exists.

The cautions are worth stating plainly because the label does not. This is a night product, and sunscreen the next morning is a condition of use, since glycolic acid measurably increases sun sensitivity for days after application. It should not share an evening with a retinoid, a benzoyl peroxide, a vitamin C or another acid. It is not for rosacea, eczema, a compromised barrier or freshly treated skin, and melasma is a reason for caution rather than a target, because over-exfoliation can darken it. Pregnant users should ask about the salicylic acid, whose dose is undisclosed. And on dry skin the sensible way to use it at all is over a moisturizer, which slows the acid and stops the flaking.

At $12.99 for 52 mL on the brand's site, with Amazon and Walmart matching and off-price stores undercutting, a bottle lasts about four months at three nights a week, which is a handful of dollars a month for one of the strongest leave-on AHAs sold at this price. For resilient, oily or combination skin that wants fast results on texture and marks and will respect the acid, it is a bargain and a good one. For the sensitive, the dry, the impatient and anyone who takes 'daily' at face value, the sixth ingredient is waiting.

The science

The serum is a leave-on alpha hydroxy acid product with a beta hydroxy acid supplement, and the evidence for that combination is mature. Glycolic acid, the smallest AHA, penetrates the stratum corneum readily and reduces corneocyte cohesion by interfering with the ionic bonds that hold the outer layers together, producing thinning of the stratum corneum, thickening of the viable epidermis and, over months, increased dermal glycosaminoglycans and collagen; controlled trials at 8 to 10 percent over twelve weeks show improved texture, reduced fine lines and lightening of pigment, with both efficacy and irritation rising as pH falls and free-acid concentration rises. Lactic acid, larger and more hydrophilic, exfoliates more gradually and increases ceramide synthesis and stratum corneum hydration, and trials at 5 to 12 percent show comparable texture benefits with somewhat less irritation. Salicylic acid at low percentages contributes lipophilic exfoliation within the follicle. Sodium hydroxide partially neutralises the blend; without a stated pH, the free-acid fraction cannot be calculated, and the brand's 10 percent claim does not specify whether it is the glycolic content or the total.

Ethoxydiglycol, sixth on the list, is the ingredient that most alters the pharmacology. It is a glycol ether solvent used as a penetration enhancer that increases the partitioning of small polar molecules into the stratum corneum, and in a glycolic acid formulation it raises delivery of the acid into the epidermis, increasing both the exfoliating effect and the irritation potential relative to the same acid in a plain aqueous gel. Its presence supports the user reports of rapid results and of stinging and flaking at daily frequency.

Licorice root extract supplies glabridin and related flavonoids with in-vitro tyrosinase inhibition and anti-inflammatory activity and small clinical signals for melasma and post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, at supporting rather than treatment levels here. Green tea catechins, phytic acid and tocopherol provide antioxidant activity relevant to acid-treated skin, which shows transiently increased oxidative stress and ultraviolet sensitivity; the photosensitisation of glycolic-treated skin is well documented and persists for several days after application, which is the basis for the sunscreen requirement. The fruit extracts contribute negligible acid compared with the purified molecules above them. The absence of fragrance and alcohol lowers the additional sensitisation load, but the combined acid content, the enhancer and the undisclosed pH place this among the stronger leave-on exfoliants available without prescription, appropriate for resilient skin at reduced frequency and inappropriate for rosacea, atopic dermatitis and barrier-compromised skin.

The clinical view

Dermatologists would classify this as a moderate-to-strong leave-on AHA treatment with a penetration enhancer and would regard it as suitable for oily, combination and resilient normal skin with rough texture, comedones, post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation or keratosis pilaris-type bumps, used two to three nights a week with a bland moisturizer and daily broad-spectrum sunscreen. The label's daily instruction would be corrected in clinic: nightly use of a 10 percent-class glycolic with ethoxydiglycol is a recipe for irritant dermatitis in most patients until tolerance is established, and the 'gentle' description would be regarded as inaccurate. Contraindications would include rosacea, atopic and seborrhoeic dermatitis, active inflammatory acne with a compromised barrier, recent procedures, isotretinoin therapy and, as a caution, melasma, in which over-exfoliation can worsen pigmentation. Because the salicylic acid concentration is undisclosed, pregnant patients would be advised to seek an alternative or clarify with their physician. The absence of fragrance and alcohol is a point in its favour, and for the right patient it offers results comparable to costlier AHA serums at a fraction of the price, provided frequency is respected.

Formula

Key ingredients

  1. Glycolic Acid (partially neutralised)

    Second on the list with sodium hydroxide close behind, glycolic acid is the serum's engine: the smallest alpha hydroxy acid, penetrating quickly to loosen the bonds between dead surface cells, and here brought part-way toward neutral so a 10 percent-class dose can be sold for regular use rather than as a weekly peel. Ethoxydiglycol just after it is a penetration enhancer that pushes the acid deeper, which sharpens both the result and the sting.

    Established mechanism for Rough Texture · established mechanism
  2. Lactic Acid

    Third on the list, the larger, gentler alpha hydroxy acid that exfoliates more slowly and doubles as a humectant, pulling water into the skin as it works; pairing it with glycolic spreads the exfoliation across two molecular sizes and takes some of the harshness out of the glycolic, which is why the serum feels less like a peel than its number suggests.

    Established mechanism for Rough Texture · established mechanism
  3. Salicylic Acid

    The oil-soluble beta hydroxy acid appears tenth, after the licorice and ahead of the botanicals, a small addition that reaches into pores where the water-loving AHAs cannot; it makes the serum a little more useful for congested, oily skin without turning it into an acne treatment, and it adds to the total acid load that reactive skin will feel.

    Established mechanism for Rough Texture · established mechanism
  4. Licorice Root Extract

    Ninth on the list, the source of glabridin, a tyrosinase-inhibiting brightener with anti-inflammatory activity, placed to calm the acids' redness and to add a pigment-evening thread to the exfoliation; at this level it is a helpful supporting act that gives the 'even skin tone' claim a second mechanism beyond cell turnover.

    Limited for Hyperpigmentation
  5. Fruit Acid Complex (Sugarcane, Lemon, Orange Extracts)

    Three fruit extracts in the lower-middle of the list that the label credits with natural exfoliating acids; in practice the glycolic and lactic acids above them are purified versions of the same molecules at far higher doses, so the complex is a botanical flourish that adds a little citrus antioxidant content and a marketing story, not exfoliation.

    Not yet assessed
  6. Green Tea Extract with Phytic Acid and Vitamin E

    An antioxidant trio, green tea catechins, phytic acid as a chelator and mild antioxidant acid, and tocopherol, that protects freshly exfoliated skin from the oxidative stress acids expose it to and offsets some of the redness; useful at the margins, and one of the reasons the serum feels calmer than a bare acid solution.

    Not yet assessed
Full ingredient list 24 ingredients ShowHide

Water (Aqua), Glycolic Acid, Lactic Acid, Propanediol, Sodium Hydroxide, Ethoxydiglycol, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract, Glycerin, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Salicylic Acid, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Saccharum Officinarum (Sugarcane) Extract, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Polyacrylate Crosspolymer-6, Polysorbate 20, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopherol, Phytic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Xanthan Gum, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, t-Butyl Alcohol

Safety & formulation facts

  • Pregnancy safety unverified
  • Fragrance free
  • Alcohol free
  • Oil free
  • Silicone free
  • Paraben free
  • Sulfate free
  • Cruelty free
  • Vegan
  • Fungal-acne safe
Potential irritants glycolic acidlactic acidsalicylic acidethoxydiglycol (penetration enhancer)citrus fruit extracts
Common allergens salicylates (aspirin allergy)citrus extracts
Compatibility

Skin types & routine

Routine step treatment
Time of day Night
Best season fall & winter
Finish invisible, fast-absorbing

Layering

Apply a thin layer to clean, dry skin at night, wait a few minutes for the sting to settle, then follow with a hydrating serum or plain moisturizer; nothing acidic or retinoid goes on the same evening. Ignore the label's 'daily' and start with two or three nights a week, spaced out, and only move toward nightly if the skin stays calm and un-flaky. Vitamin C goes in the morning on the other side of a sunscreen you must wear every day while using it. On very dry skin, apply moisturizer first and the serum over it to buffer.

When to expect results

Expect a tingle or brief sting for the first minute of the first few uses and a fresher, smoother surface the next morning. Texture improves noticeably within two weeks and dullness lifts; post-blemish marks and sun spots begin to fade at four to eight weeks with strict sunscreen, and bumps on the arms or jaw soften over a month. Overuse shows as tightness, flaking or new redness, which means fewer nights, not more product.

Pairs well with hyaluronic-acidceramidesniacinamidesunscreen
Don't combine with retinolbenzoyl-peroxidevitamin-csalicylic-acid

A routine built around it

Morning

  1. Gentle cleanser
  2. Moisturizer
  3. Sunscreen SPF 30+

Night

  1. Cleanser
  2. THIS PRODUCT (2-3 nights a week to start)
  3. Hydrating serum
  4. Moisturizer
Guidance

How to use it, and who it's for

How to use

At night, on clean, fully dry skin, dispense three or four drops and spread a thin, even layer over the face, avoiding the eye area, lips and nostrils; do not apply to broken, sunburnt or freshly shaved skin. Expect a tingle for up to a minute. Wait two or three minutes, then apply a hydrating serum and moisturizer; on dry or reactive-but-determined skin, apply moisturizer first and the serum over it to slow the acid. Begin with two nights a week, spaced apart, for two to three weeks, then three nights if the skin shows no flaking, tightness or lingering redness, and treat nightly use as an eventual option for oily, resilient skin only. Never combine it in one evening with a retinoid, benzoyl peroxide, vitamin C or another exfoliant, and apply broad-spectrum sunscreen every morning without exception while using it. If stinging persists beyond a few minutes or redness lasts into the next day, stop for a week and resume less often.

Is it worth the price?

At $12.99 for 1.75 fl oz on the brand's site, with Amazon and Walmart in the same range and off-price chains often lower, this is one of the cheapest leave-on AHA serums of its strength on the market, and at three nights a week with four drops the bottle lasts around four months, roughly three dollars a month. For resilient skin that buys the right product, that is outstanding value: a real glycolic-lactic dose, a salicylic assist, licorice and antioxidants in a fragrance-free base, from a brand with twenty years of sales. What the price does not buy is a defined percentage, a disclosed pH, honest frequency guidance or any testing of the finished serum, and the penetration enhancer means the strength is higher than the bracket usually delivers, which is a value only if the skin can use it. For sensitive or dry faces the bottle is cheap and the recovery is not, and a gentler PHA or lactic-only product would be the better spend.

Who should buy it

People with oily, combination or resilient normal skin and rough texture, dullness, blackheads, post-blemish marks or mild sun damage who want a strong, fragrance-free leave-on AHA at a very low price and will use it a few nights a week with sunscreen. It suits experienced acid users who find gentle PHAs too slow and want fast, visible turnover on a budget.

Who should skip it

Anyone with sensitive, dry, rosacea-prone, eczema-prone or barrier-damaged skin, anyone recently peeled, lasered or on isotretinoin, and people with melasma who risk worsening it. Beginners who intend to follow the 'daily' instruction literally should choose a milder exfoliant first, and pregnant users should clarify the salicylic acid content before using it.

Ready to try it?Advanced Clinicals 10% Glycolic Acid + Lactic Acid Face Serum · $12.99 · 1.75 fl oz / 52 mL
Details

The product, in detail

Texture
A clear, thin, water-light gel-serum with a faint slip that spreads easily, absorbs in a minute and leaves no residue.
Scent
Unfragranced; a faint sour, slightly acidic smell from the AHAs on application that disappears at once.
Packaging
A 1.75 fl oz / 52 mL amber glass bottle with a white bulb dropper, in a white carton marked 10% Glycolic Acid + Lactic Acid.
How long it lasts
About four months at three nights a week with four drops, or two months if used nightly.
Once opened
Use within 12 months · track your toss-by date →
Size
1.75 fl oz / 52 mL
Made in
United States
Launched
2020

What the first two weeks feel like

The first application tingles within seconds and, on some faces, stings for a minute, which is the glycolic and the penetration enhancer arriving together; it settles, and the skin looks noticeably fresher the next morning. Purging is possible on congested skin in the first two weeks. Light flaking around the nose and mouth after a few consecutive nights is the signal to slow down; a moisturizer over the top, or under it on dry skin, makes a real difference to how the serum is tolerated.

The story behind it

Why it exists

Launched in 2020 as the exfoliating member of Advanced Clinicals' amber-bottle serum line, the product brought a 10 percent-class AHA blend to the value shelf at a time when leave-on glycolic serums were migrating from prestige to drugstore. The formula follows the brand's pattern, one headline active in a large bottle, and adds a fruit acid complex for the natural-ingredient story its Amazon audience expects.

About Advanced Clinicals Established Brand (5–20 years)

Founded in 2004, Advanced Clinicals is a US value brand selling large, inexpensive serums through Amazon, Walmart and off-price chains, with two decades of sales and no published clinical research. It states a 10 percent figure on this serum without clarifying whether that is the glycolic acid alone or the combined acids, and provides no pH; its 'dermatologist tested' label indicates a tolerability panel rather than efficacy data.

Brand founded 2004 · This product since 2020

Myth vs. reality

What people get wrong about it

MythBecause the label says to apply it daily, nightly use is the right starting point.

RealityA glycolic-lactic serum in the 10 percent class with ethoxydiglycol to drive it deeper is a strong leave-on exfoliant, and the AHA literature is clear that irritation and barrier damage rise with frequency. Two or three spaced nights a week is the sensible start, with nightly use reserved for resilient, oily skin that shows no flaking or lasting redness after a month.

MythThe sugarcane, lemon and orange extracts provide natural exfoliation on top of the acids.

RealityGlycolic acid is the acid found in sugarcane and citric acid the one in lemon and orange, and the purified versions in second and third place supply hundreds of times more of them than the trace fruit extracts lower down. The fruit acid complex is a label flourish with a little antioxidant content; the exfoliation comes from the named acids and the pH the brand does not disclose.

FAQ

Questions people ask

How strong is Advanced Clinicals 10% Glycolic Acid + Lactic Acid Serum?

Strong for a leave-on: glycolic acid is second on the list and lactic acid third, with sodium hydroxide partially neutralising them and ethoxydiglycol enhancing penetration, plus a small salicylic acid dose. The brand does not say whether 10 percent is the glycolic alone or both acids together, or what the pH is, so treat it as a 10 percent-class product and start slowly.

Can I use Advanced Clinicals glycolic serum every day?

The label says daily, but most skin should not begin there. Two or three nights a week, spaced out, with moisturizer on top and sunscreen every morning is the safe start; increase only if there is no flaking, tightness or lingering redness after several weeks. Sensitive, rosacea-prone or eczema-prone skin should not use it at all.

Does Advanced Clinicals Glycolic Acid Serum fade dark spots?

It helps with post-blemish marks and mild sun spots by speeding surface turnover, and licorice root extract adds a small tyrosinase-inhibiting effect, with results at four to eight weeks if sunscreen is worn daily. Melasma is a caution rather than a target, since aggressive exfoliation can worsen it; a tranexamic or azelaic product is the better route there.

Can I use Advanced Clinicals Glycolic Acid Serum with retinol?

Not on the same night. Both exfoliate and both irritate, and stacking them multiplies the risk of a damaged barrier. Alternate nights, glycolic serum on one and retinol on the next, or use the glycolic two nights a week and retinol on the others, and keep vitamin C in the morning.

Is Advanced Clinicals 10% Glycolic Acid Serum fragrance-free?

Yes. It contains no parfum, essential oils or alcohol denat, and its sour smell on application is the acids themselves. That makes it cleaner than many budget exfoliants, though the citrus fruit extracts and the acid load mean it is still not a product for reactive skin.

How much does Advanced Clinicals Glycolic Acid + Lactic Acid Serum cost?

It is $12.99 for 1.75 fl oz on the brand's site, similar on Amazon and at Walmart, and often less in off-price stores. Used three nights a week the bottle lasts about four months, which makes it one of the least expensive leave-on AHA serums per use.

Reviews

What shoppers tend to say

Recurring themes our editors read across retailer reviews — summaries in our words, not quotations, and not a substitute for a patch test.

Common praise

  • Skin noticeably smoother and brighter within a week
  • Strong results for the price
  • Helps fade acne marks and rough patches
  • Fragrance-free and lightweight

Common complaints

  • Stings and can cause peeling or redness if used daily
  • Too harsh for sensitive skin
  • Unclear whether 10 percent refers to both acids
  • Dropper is messy
Notable endorsementsDermatologist-tested (tolerability) per the label
Next stepCheck it against what you already useClashes, spacing and the right order, with everything on your shelf.