SkinCeuticals Cell Cycle Catalyst 30 mL dropper bottle
Supporting role for Rough Texture
What makes this different

Most leave-on exfoliants are either a single acid at a treatment dose you use a few times a week or a toner you swipe on and forget; this is a five-acid serum dosed low enough for daily use and built explicitly as a first layer under the rest of a routine — the acid step that makes the vitamin C and retinoid on top of it work better. Phytic acid as the second-largest acid, for chelating antioxidant protection, and taurine as a hydration-and-energy partner are the two choices no other daily acid makes.

SkinCeuticals

SkinCeuticals Cell Cycle Catalyst Review

Daily Acid Under-Layer Exfoliants serum clinical Paraben free Fungal-acne safe Vegan Not cruelty free

A daily acid done the way a clinical brand should do it: five acids at disclosed low doses, a total of 7.7%, tuned so that most skin can wear it every morning under vitamin C and sunscreen without a flake. It polishes texture within two weeks and, over the brand's eight-week window, nudges lines, marks and pores in the right direction. The formula is elegant and honest; the $120 for thirty millilitres of acidified water is the part that takes a deep breath.

Price $120.00 1 fl oz / 30 mL
Shopper rating 4.5 ★★★★★ 260 reviews
On the market 2024 Made in United States
Buy at Amazon ♥
Verdicts

How well it fits each concern

The efficacy figures attached to this serum — 21% fewer fine lines, 16% less discoloration and so on — come from one eight-week study run by SkinCeuticals with a participant count it has not disclosed, and no independent trial of the five-acid blend exists. A couple of hundred retailer reviews since the February 2024 launch speak well to daily tolerability, so this assessment leans on the transparent acid percentages and the established behaviour of each acid at its dose rather than on the brand's percentages.

One verdict per concern. Open a row for the reasoning; the receipt has every source.

The scaleRecommendedGoodSupportingEarly evidenceNot for thisAvoidhow it works

Supporting rolefor Rough TextureGlycolic Acid is a reference standard by mechanism for rough texture, but this serum carries it below the studied range — a supporting role at best.Receipt2 sources on the row · 2.5% declared, studied range 4–10% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R7, same reading on 227 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Glycolic Acid is a reference standard by mechanism for this concern — an established physical action, not a trial result.
  2. It is present below the studied range.
  3. The formula carries none of the triggers this concern is sensitive to.

Limited evidenceGentleNo reviews read yet

What would change this: A concentration inside the studied range would raise this a step.

Same rule for everyone. “Supporting role” is the verdict on 7,796 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R7 decided 227 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All rough texture products →How rough texture is treated →

Supporting rolefor DullnessGlycolic Acid is a reference standard by mechanism for dullness, but this serum carries it below the studied range — a supporting role at best.Receipt1 source on the row · 2.5% declared, studied range 4–10% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R7, same reading on 227 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Glycolic Acid is a reference standard by mechanism for this concern — an established physical action, not a trial result.
  2. It is present below the studied range.
  3. The formula carries none of the triggers this concern is sensitive to.

Limited evidenceGentleNo reviews read yet

What would change this: A concentration inside the studied range would raise this a step.

Same rule for everyone. “Supporting role” is the verdict on 7,796 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R7 decided 227 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All dullness products →How dullness is treated →

Unprovenfor AgingGlycolic Acid has early or mechanistic evidence for aging — a reasonable bet, not a recommendation; the other actives here are not yet assessed for it.Receipt4 sources on the row · 2.5% declared, studied range 5–10% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R9, same reading on 4,156 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Glycolic Acid has early or mechanistic evidence for this concern, not trial-backed standing.
  2. It is present below the studied range.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Moderate evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

Cautions: a photosensitising active — use sun protection.

What would change this: A concentration inside the studied range would raise this a step.

Same rule for everyone. “Unproven” is the verdict on 4,156 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R9 decided 4,156 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All aging products →

Unprovenfor HyperpigmentationGlycolic Acid has early or mechanistic evidence for hyperpigmentation — a reasonable bet, not a recommendation; the other actives here are not yet assessed for it.Receipt2 sources on the row · 2.5% declared, studied range 5–10% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R9, same reading on 4,156 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Glycolic Acid has early or mechanistic evidence for this concern, not trial-backed standing.
  2. It is present below the studied range.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Moderate evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

Cautions: a photosensitising active — use sun protection.

What would change this: A concentration inside the studied range would raise this a step.

Same rule for everyone. “Unproven” is the verdict on 4,156 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R9 decided 4,156 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All hyperpigmentation products →How hyperpigmentation is treated →

Not for thisfor Large PoresThe actives here have been researched for large pores and the evidence does not support the claim.Receipt3 sources on the row · 2.5% declared, studied range 5–10% · rule R10, same reading on 489 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Glycolic Acid has been researched for this concern and the evidence does not support it.
  2. It is present below the studied range.
  3. The formula carries none of the triggers this concern is sensitive to.

Not from a trial rowGentleNo reviews read yet

What would change this: A concentration inside the studied range would raise this a step.

Same rule for everyone. “Not for this” is the verdict on 489 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R10 decided 489 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All large pores products →

Unprovenfor Acne ScarringGlycolic Acid has early or mechanistic evidence for acne scarring — a reasonable bet, not a recommendation; the other actives here are not yet assessed for it.Receipt1 source on the row · 2.5% declared, studied range 5–10% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R9, same reading on 4,156 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Glycolic Acid has early or mechanistic evidence for this concern, not trial-backed standing.
  2. It is present below the studied range.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Moderate evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

Cautions: a photosensitising active — use sun protection.

What would change this: A concentration inside the studied range would raise this a step.

Same rule for everyone. “Unproven” is the verdict on 4,156 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R9 decided 4,156 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All acne scarring products →How acne scarring is treated →

Where our review and the verdict differ. The review below was written on the formulation and the published trials; the verdicts above apply the stricter standing test in our methodology — an active earns a recommendation only with guideline or regulatory standing for the concern. Where the two disagree, the verdict is Dermington’s position.

A verdict is Dermington’s assessment of how well a product’s ingredients fit a concern — never a claim about what the product treats. Evidence dots and collected reviews sit beside it and are never blended in. Rules 0.5.1 · evidence table ev-2026.10-r231 · engine 5.2.0 · how we decide · this product’s receipt

Reader poll · Town SquareQuestion 1 of up to 3

Have you used Cell Cycle Catalyst?

One tap counts. A couple of optional follow-ups come next.

No account neededOne answer each, change it any timeCounted only in anonymous totalsHow the Square counts →
Assessment

Pros & cons

What it does well 7

  • Five acids at disclosed doses totalling a daily-tolerable 7.7%
  • Phytic acid adds antioxidant chelation most acid serums lack
  • Gentle enough for daily use without flaking on most skin
  • Designed to layer under vitamin C and retinoid routines
  • Visibly smoother texture within two weeks
  • Fragrance-free, oil-free, thirteen-ingredient formula
  • Eight-week in-house study with specific reported outcomes

Where it falls short 6

  • $120 for 30 mL of a low-dose acid serum
  • Maintenance-level results, not a treatment-strength peel
  • Study percentages come from an undisclosed sample size
  • Dropper dosing 'a third of a dropper' is imprecise
  • Still an acid — sensitive and rosacea-prone skin should be cautious
  • Taurine's 'cell cycle' role is more branding than evidence
Review

The full review

There is a category of skincare product that does not promise to fix anything itself. It promises to make everything else work better. SkinCeuticals calls Cell Cycle Catalyst an exfoliating booster serum, and the word booster is doing precise work: this is not a treatment you judge on its own results but a first layer, applied to dry skin before the vitamin C and retinoid that actually carry your routine, whose value lies in keeping the surface they land on fresh. It is a modest ambition from a brand that usually sells its serums as events, and it turns out to be the right one, because what the bottle contains is a very carefully built daily acid and not much else.

SkinCeuticals had, for a clinical brand nearly three decades old, a curious gap until February 2024: plenty of antioxidants, a strong overnight glycolic cream, peel pads in the professional channel, and no daily leave-on acid. Cell Cycle Catalyst filled it with a name lifted from cell biology and a formula whose entire active content fits in one line. Water, glycerin, and then five acids the brand discloses to the decimal — glycolic 2.5%, phytic 2%, lactic 2%, mandelic 1%, salicylic 0.2% — plus 1% taurine, a solvent, a neutraliser, a preservative and a chelator. Thirteen ingredients. No botanicals, no hyaluronics, no soothing extracts to soften the story. It is a formula that expects to be read.

Read it and the logic is tolerability by distribution. A single 7.7% glycolic acid would be a respectable peel-strength product that most skin could not wear daily. Split that load across five acids of different sizes and speeds — glycolic small and fast, lactic humectant and moderate, mandelic large and slow, phytic larger still, salicylic oil-soluble and homeopathically dosed — and the total acid action reaches skin as a steady, even nudge rather than a concentrated hit. The two unusual choices are worth pausing on. Phytic acid as the second-largest component is rare in leave-on exfoliants; it is a big molecule that barely penetrates, exfoliates gently, and chelates the iron and copper ions that catalyse free-radical damage, so it brings an antioxidant and brightening dimension the other acids lack. Taurine is the ingredient behind the name, an amino acid that helps cells regulate water and salt under stress, with in-vitro evidence for supporting keratinocyte hydration; the brand frames it as cellular energy, which is generous, but as a hydration partner for skin being asked to turn over faster it is a sensible inclusion. The 0.2% salicylic acid is a token toward pores — far below any acne dose, which is precisely why the serum sits comfortably on dry and normal skin as well as oily.

In use it is almost nothing, which is the point. A third of a dropper is a few drops of a completely clear, water-thin liquid pressed onto a dry face; it tingles lightly for ten or twenty seconds on freshly washed skin, absorbs within a minute, smells of nothing, and leaves a faint clean tightness that a vitamin C serum or moisturizer erases. There is no purge, no flaking, no flush for most skin even from the first day of daily use. The first change is textural — skin feels smoother under the fingertips by the end of week one and looks it by week two — and the second is that everything layered on top seems to sink in faster, which is the booster promise kept. Over the eight weeks of the brand's study window, the surface stays polished, post-blemish marks and mottling fade a shade faster than they otherwise would, and pores look a touch tighter. SkinCeuticals reports those changes as percentages — 21 percent fewer fine lines, 16 percent less discoloration, 13 percent smaller-looking pores, 16 percent improvement in acne marks — from an in-house eight-week study whose participant count it does not disclose. Treat the numbers as directional: they describe refined skin, not transformed skin, and they were measured by the company selling the bottle.

What it will not do is replace a treatment. Anyone hoping a daily acid at these doses will match a weekly 10% glycolic or a clinic peel will be disappointed; the effect is cumulative maintenance, and it is deliberately dialled to a level that never interrupts a retinoid routine. Sensitive, rosacea-prone or barrier-compromised skin should still approach a daily acid with caution — five gentle acids are still five acids — and start on alternate days. Dry skin tolerates it better than most acid products, thanks to the glycerin and lactic, but has the least to gain, since its problem is rarely surface build-up. The dropper, calibrated by eye at a third of a fill, is an odd imprecision from a brand this clinical.

And then the price, which is the review's only real argument. One hundred and twenty dollars for 30 mL — three months at the dose — puts Cell Cycle Catalyst among the most expensive daily exfoliants sold, for a formula that is, stripped of its branding, acidified water with a well-judged acid ratio. The engineering is genuinely good, the transparency is admirable, and the brand's dermatology-office channel will bear the number. But a shopper who compares it to daily acid toners at a quarter of the price is not being unfair, and the honest defence is not that this does something they cannot, but that it does the same thing with more precision, less irritation and a study behind it. Whether that is worth the difference depends on how much the rest of your routine cost, because a booster is only as valuable as what it boosts.

So: for normal, combination or oily skin already spending on a vitamin C and a retinoid, wanting a daily acid layer that will never derail either, this is one of the best-engineered options available, and it earns the word booster. For sensitive or reactive skin, for anyone wanting a visible treatment rather than a maintenance layer, or for anyone whose routine is not expensive enough to need boosting, it is a beautifully made luxury that a simpler acid could stand in for at a fraction of the cost.

The science

The serum's scientific footing is strongest where it is least novel. Alpha-hydroxy acids in leave-on cosmetic formulations have three decades of controlled evidence: the foundational work by Ditre and colleagues in the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology in 1996 showed that daily glycolic, lactic or citric acid increased epidermal and dermal thickness, collagen density and glycosaminoglycans in photoaged skin, and later studies at cosmetic concentrations of 4 to 10 percent documented smoother texture and reduced pigmentation over eight to twelve weeks. Cell Cycle Catalyst's 2.5% glycolic and 2% lactic sit at the low end of that range, consistent with daily maintenance rather than resurfacing. Mandelic acid at 1% draws on a smaller literature — a 2009 comparative study by Garg and colleagues in Dermatologic Surgery found salicylic-mandelic acid peels at least as effective as glycolic acid peels for acne, post-acne scarring and hyperpigmentation, with fewer side effects, and its large molecular size and slow penetration underpin its reputation for even exfoliation on deeper skin tones. Salicylic acid's comedolytic action is well established, but 0.2% is an order of magnitude below the 0.5 to 2 percent of the FDA acne monograph and should be read as a gesture toward pore appearance rather than a functional dose.

Phytic acid is the more interesting inclusion. It is a large inositol-phosphate molecule with weak keratolytic action and strong chelating capacity for iron and copper, the transition metals that catalyse Fenton-type free-radical reactions in skin; in-vitro and small clinical studies have shown antioxidant and mild depigmenting effects, and it appears in combination peels for melasma. Its 2% presence gives the blend a protective dimension that pure AHA formulas lack, though human data on phytic acid alone in a daily leave-on are limited. Taurine has in-vitro evidence that it acts as an osmolyte in keratinocytes, helping cells maintain hydration under osmotic and UV stress, and animal data on antioxidant activity; there is no controlled human trial showing that topical 1% taurine affects cell turnover, and the 'cellular energy' framing extends the evidence further than it goes.

The combination is where evidence is thinnest. No independent trial compares this five-acid blend against a single acid at the same total concentration, and the efficacy percentages SkinCeuticals reports — a 21% reduction in fine lines, 16% in discoloration, 13% in visible pores over eight weeks — come from a single company-run study whose sample size has not been disclosed and which has not been published. The formulation logic is sound and each acid's behaviour is predictable at its dose; the specific claims should be treated as manufacturer data awaiting independent confirmation.

References 2 ShowHide
  1. Effects of alpha-hydroxy acids on photoaged skin: a pilot clinical, histologic, and ultrastructural study — Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology (1996)
  2. Glycolic acid peels versus salicylic-mandelic acid peels in active acne vulgaris and post-acne scarring and hyperpigmentation: a comparative study — Dermatologic Surgery (2009)

The clinical view

Low-dose daily alpha-hydroxy acid products occupy a comfortable niche in clinical routines: they maintain the texture and tone gains of in-office peels and prescription retinoids between treatments, and they are generally regarded as safe for long-term use when paired with daily sunscreen, since even mild exfoliation increases UV sensitivity. A five-acid blend totalling under 8 percent, with the largest component at 2.5 percent, is within the range dermatologists consider appropriate for daily leave-on use in normal, combination and oily skin, and the inclusion of mandelic acid makes the formula a reasonable choice for patients with deeper skin tones, in whom harsher exfoliation risks post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation. The standard counselling points apply: apply to dry skin, keep it separate from retinoids on sensitive skin, avoid stacking with other exfoliants or peels, and expect gradual refinement rather than correction. Patients with rosacea, atopic dermatitis, active eczema or a recently compromised barrier are usually advised against any daily acid, gentle or not. Clinicians tend to regard the taurine and 'cell cycle' language as marketing over a competent acid formula, and the brand's eight-week efficacy figures as unpublished company data; the product's real clinical merit is that it is a well-tolerated maintenance exfoliant that does not interfere with the treatments that matter more.

Formula

Key ingredients

  1. Glycolic Acid (2.5%) 2.5%

    Third on the list and the largest single acid, glycolic at 2.5% is the workhorse of the 7.7% blend — small enough a molecule to reach the lower stratum corneum and loosen the bonds between dull surface cells, but at a third of the dose the brand uses in its overnight glycolic cream, which is what makes this a daily rather than a weekly step.

    Established mechanism for Rough Texture · established mechanism
  2. Phytic Acid (2%) 2%

    The second-largest acid and the unusual one: phytic acid is a large, slow-penetrating antioxidant acid that chelates the iron and copper which catalyse free-radical damage, so in this blend it contributes gentle exfoliation, a brightening nudge on discoloration and a protective role the other four acids lack.

    Not yet assessed
  3. Lactic Acid (2%) + Mandelic Acid (1%) 3%

    The two gentler alpha-hydroxy acids — humectant lactic and large-molecule, slow-release mandelic — pad out the blend so that a meaningful total acid load reaches skin without the concentrated sting a single 7.7% glycolic would bring; mandelic in particular is the acid dermatologists reach for on deeper skin tones because it exfoliates evenly with less post-inflammatory pigment.

    Established mechanism for Rough Texture · established mechanism
  4. Salicylic Acid (0.2%) 0.2%

    A tiny, deliberate dose of the one oil-soluble acid, present to reach a little way into pores and give the blend its claim on visible pore size — far below any acne-treatment concentration, which is why the serum sits comfortably on non-oily skin.

    Established mechanism for Rough Texture · established mechanism
  5. Taurine (1%) 1%

    The ingredient behind the 'cell cycle' name — an amino acid the brand credits with supporting cellular energy and osmotic balance in keratinocytes, so that skin being asked to turn over faster is also being helped to hold water; a plausible supporting role with thinner human data than the acids around it.

    Not yet assessed
Full ingredient list 13 ingredients ShowHide

Aqua / Water / Eau, Glycerin, Glycolic Acid, Ethoxydiglycol, Sodium Hydroxide, Phytic Acid, Lactic Acid, Mandelic Acid, Taurine, Salicylic Acid, Chlorphenesin, Caprylyl Glycol, Tetrasodium Glutamate Diacetate

Safety & formulation facts

  • Pregnancy safe
  • Fragrance free
  • Alcohol free
  • Oil free
  • Silicone free
  • Paraben free
  • Sulfate free
  • Not cruelty free
  • Vegan
  • Fungal-acne safe
Potential irritants glycolic acidlactic acidmandelic acidsalicylic acidethoxydiglycol
Compatibility

Skin types & routine

Routine step treatment
Time of day Morning & night
Best season All year
Finish fast-absorbing, invisible

Layering

A third of a dropper pressed onto dry skin once a day, as the first thing after cleansing — in the morning it goes on before a vitamin C serum and sunscreen, at night before other serums and moisturizer. It is built to sit under a retinoid-based routine rather than replace one: most people use it in the morning and keep retinol for the evening, and on nights you use a stronger peel or the brand's overnight glycolic, skip this altogether.

When to expect results

Immediate: a mild, brief tingle and a smoother feel by the next morning. Short term (2-4 weeks): visibly more even texture, a brighter surface and other products absorbing better. Full effect (8 weeks): the brand's study window — modest, measurable softening of fine lines, discoloration, pores and acne marks, on the order of the 13 to 21 percent improvements it reports, which reads as refined rather than transformed skin.

Pairs well with vitamin C serum in the morningretinol on alternate eveningshyaluronic acid or B5 hydrating serumbroad-spectrum SPF 50
Don't combine with other daily AHA or BHA exfoliants in the same routineat-home peels or the brand's overnight glycolic on the same dayretinoids applied at the same time on sensitive skin

A routine built around it

Morning

  1. Cleanser
  2. THIS PRODUCT (1/3 dropper on dry skin)
  3. Vitamin C serum
  4. Moisturizer
  5. Sunscreen SPF 50

Night

  1. Cleanser
  2. Retinol (alternate nights)
  3. Hydrating serum
  4. Moisturizer
Guidance

How to use it, and who it's for

How to use

Once a day, morning or evening — pick one and stay consistent. After cleansing, let the skin dry fully, then dispense about a third of a dropper into your palm and press it over the face and neck, avoiding the eyes and lips. It absorbs in under a minute with a brief, light tingle. In the morning, follow with a vitamin C serum, moisturizer and a broad-spectrum SPF 30 or higher — daily sunscreen is not optional with a daily acid. At night, follow with hydrating serums and moisturizer, and keep any retinoid for the opposite end of the day if your skin is at all reactive. Start every other day for two weeks if you are new to acids. Skip it on days you use a peel, the brand's overnight glycolic, or any other exfoliant.

Is it worth the price?

At $120 for 30 mL, roughly three months of daily use, Cell Cycle Catalyst is priced like a SkinCeuticals antioxidant serum and formulated like a very good acid toner, and that gap is the whole value discussion. What the money buys is precision — five disclosed acid percentages tuned for daily tolerability, a phytic acid component few competitors include, a fragrance-free thirteen-ingredient formula and a company study behind it — from a legacy clinical brand with dermatology-office distribution. What it does not buy is anything a well-made daily acid at a quarter of the price cannot broadly approximate; the difference is refinement and tolerability, not mechanism. For someone whose routine already carries a $180 vitamin C and a prescription retinoid, a $40-a-month booster that protects those investments is defensible. For a simpler routine it is a luxury. Walmart and other discounters periodically list it well below the $120 clinic price, and one size only is sold.

Who should buy it

People with normal, combination or oily skin who already run a vitamin C and retinoid routine and want a gentle daily acid layer that keeps texture polished and helps everything else absorb — without ever flaking or interrupting the retinoid. It suits deeper skin tones well thanks to the mandelic and low overall dose, and anyone who found stronger acid products too much to sustain.

Who should skip it

Sensitive, rosacea-prone, eczema-prone or barrier-compromised skin should avoid a daily acid of any gentleness, and anyone wanting visible treatment-strength results will find a maintenance layer underwhelming. It is also poor value for a routine that has nothing expensive to boost — a simpler daily acid does most of the same job for far less.

Ready to try it?SkinCeuticals Cell Cycle Catalyst · $120.00 · 1 fl oz / 30 mL
Details

The product, in detail

Texture
A completely clear, water-thin liquid with no slip at all — it feels like a toner from a dropper, spreads in a few seconds and is gone into the skin within a minute, leaving a faint, clean tightness.
Scent
Fragrance-free and essentially odourless — a very faint tartness from the acids up close, nothing more.
Packaging
A 30 mL clear glass dropper bottle with the brand's white clinical label; the dropper is calibrated by eye — a third of a dropper is the dose — which is imprecise, though the clear glass is acceptable for a formula with no light-sensitive antioxidants.
How long it lasts
About 3 months at a third of a dropper once daily.
Once opened
Use within 12 months · track your toss-by date →
Size
1 fl oz / 30 mL
Made in
United States
Launched
2024

What the first two weeks feel like

The first application brings a light, short tingle on a freshly washed face and nothing else — no heat, no flush, no visible reaction — and skin feels slightly smoother by the next morning. There is no purge or flaking for most people even with daily use; the first two weeks are simply a gradual polishing of the surface, with texture the first thing to change.

The story behind it

Why it exists

SkinCeuticals built its name on antioxidant serums and, later, on a strong overnight glycolic cream, but had no daily leave-on acid until February 2024, when Cell Cycle Catalyst arrived with a name borrowed from cell biology and an eight-week study in hand. The concept was a 'booster' rather than a treatment — a low-dose acid layer that accelerates turnover so the brand's expensive antioxidant serums reach fresher skin — and it launched at $115 through clinics and Dermstore before settling at $120.

About SkinCeuticals Legacy Brand (20+ years)

SkinCeuticals has been a dermatologist-channel clinical brand since 1997, founded on peer-reviewed vitamin C research and now owned by L'Oréal. Cell Cycle Catalyst, launched in February 2024, is its first daily leave-on multi-acid serum; the brand supports it with an eight-week in-house clinical study reporting percentage improvements in lines, discoloration and pores, but has not published that study independently.

Brand founded 1997 · This product since 2024

Myth vs. reality

What people get wrong about it

MythFive acids means five times the exfoliation.

RealityThe total acid load is 7.7 percent, with the largest single acid at 2.5 percent — lower than most weekly peels and about a third of the brand's overnight glycolic cream. Spreading that load across five acids of different sizes and penetration speeds is a tolerability strategy, not a potency one; the point is a gentle daily action that most skin can sustain.

MythTaurine 'energises' skin cells the way it energises you in a drink.

RealityTaurine is an amino acid that helps cells regulate their water and salt balance and buffers oxidative stress, and in skin it has in-vitro evidence for supporting keratinocyte hydration under stress. There is no stimulant effect and no human trial showing 1% taurine speeds cell turnover on its own; it is a plausible hydration partner for a daily acid, and the 'cell cycle' branding is doing a lot of the work.

FAQ

Questions people ask

How often can I use SkinCeuticals Cell Cycle Catalyst?

Once a day, morning or evening, is the intended cadence — the 7.7% five-acid blend is dosed low enough that most normal, combination and oily skin tolerates daily use without flaking. Sensitive skin should start every other day, and anyone using a weekly peel or the brand's overnight glycolic cream should skip Cell Cycle Catalyst on those days.

Should Cell Cycle Catalyst go before or after vitamin C?

Before. SkinCeuticals positions it as the first step after cleansing — a third of a dropper on dry skin — with a vitamin C serum and then sunscreen layered over it in the morning, or other serums and moisturizer at night. The acids prepare the surface so what follows absorbs more evenly.

Can I use Cell Cycle Catalyst with retinol?

Yes, and most people do — Cell Cycle Catalyst in the morning under vitamin C and sunscreen, retinol at night. Applying both in the same routine stacks two turnover accelerators and raises the irritation risk, so keep them at opposite ends of the day, and drop the acid on nights you increase your retinol strength.

What is the difference between Cell Cycle Catalyst and Glycolic 10 Renew Overnight?

Glycolic 10 Renew Overnight is a 10% single-acid night cream meant as a stronger, a-few-nights-a-week resurfacing treatment. Cell Cycle Catalyst spreads 7.7% across five acids in a watery serum dosed for daily use and designed to sit under the rest of a routine. The cream is the treatment; the serum is the maintenance layer, and the brand does not intend them to be used on the same night.

Is Cell Cycle Catalyst safe during pregnancy?

Its acids — glycolic, lactic, mandelic and phytic — are considered compatible with pregnancy at these low cosmetic concentrations, and the salicylic acid is present at only 0.2%, far below the levels that raise any concern. It contains no retinoids or hydroquinone. Pregnant skin can be more reactive, so starting every other day is sensible.

Does SkinCeuticals Cell Cycle Catalyst help with acne marks?

The brand's eight-week study reports a 16% visible improvement in acne marks, which matches what a daily low-dose acid blend with phytic and mandelic acids would be expected to do: speed the shedding of pigmented surface cells so post-blemish marks fade faster. It is a gradual, modest effect that works best with daily sunscreen, and it does nothing for active breakouts.

Reviews

What shoppers tend to say

Recurring themes our editors read across retailer reviews — summaries in our words, not quotations, and not a substitute for a patch test.

Common praise

  • Gentle enough to use every day without flaking
  • Skin looks smoother and brighter within a couple of weeks
  • Makes vitamin C and retinol routines absorb better
  • Lightweight, watery and layers under everything

Common complaints

  • $120 for a 30 mL bottle of acids in water
  • Results are subtle compared with a weekly peel
  • Mild stinging on freshly cleansed or dry skin
  • Dropper dosing is imprecise
Notable endorsementsSkinCeuticals' first daily leave-on multi-acid serum, launched February 2024Covered at launch by NewBeauty with dermatologist commentary; sold through Dermstore, Bluemercury and clinics
Next stepCheck it against what you already useClashes, spacing and the right order, with everything on your shelf.