Brickell Retinol Eye Cream in a squat matte black 0.5 oz jar labelled retinol, jojoba and vitamin E
Good choice for Aging
What makes this different

It is a retinol eye cream that leads with aloe juice and a barrier-building trio of sunflower oil, jojoba and shea, with panthenol and real hyaluronic acid ahead of the active, which is a distinctly cushioned way to bring retinol to the eye area. It is also the rare Brickell face product whose hyaluronic acid is the genuine article rather than the senna seed gum found across the rest of the range.

Brickell

Brickell Retinol Eye Cream Review

Gentle Retinol, Wrong Jar Eye Creams cream clean beauty Paraben free Cruelty free

A calm, well-cushioned way to bring a low dose of retinol to the eye area, with aloe, jojoba, shea and real hyaluronic acid doing the comfort work and no sting to speak of. The undeclared strength means results will be gradual and the jar is the wrong home for a light-sensitive active, so it is a sensible first retinol eye cream rather than a powerful one, priced a little above what the dose justifies.

Price $44.00 0.5 oz (15 mL)
Shopper rating 4.7 ★★★★★ 15 reviews
On the market 2025 Made in United States
Buy at Amazon ♥
Verdicts

How well it fits each concern

Fifteen reviews on a product that has been on sale for a little over a year is too thin a base to describe how it performs for most people, and it has no listing yet on major retailers where a larger sample would accumulate. What follows is grounded in the ingredient order, the clinical record of low-dose retinol, and the known effects of jar packaging on that molecule, not in observed results for this cream.

One verdict per concern. Open a row for the reasoning; the receipt has every source.

The scaleRecommendedGoodSupportingEarly evidenceNot for thisAvoidhow it works

Good choicefor AgingRetinol is a trial-supported active for aging; this cream carries it, though the concentration is not declared.Receipt4 sources on the row · concentration not declared; studied range 0.075–0.5% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R5, same reading on 9,843 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Retinol has trial-supported standing for this concern.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries none of the triggers this concern is sensitive to.

Moderate evidenceGentleNo reviews read yet

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Good choice” is the verdict on 10,340 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R5 decided 9,843 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All aging products →

Supporting rolefor Dark CirclesRetinol has early evidence for dark circles, and hydration of the periorbital area is the recognised companion to treating it — a reasonable supporting choice, short of a recommendation.Receipt1 source on the row · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R8a, same reading on 1,509 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Retinol has early or mechanistic evidence for this concern, not trial-backed standing.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries none of the triggers this concern is sensitive to.

Limited evidenceGentleNo reviews read yet

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Supporting role” is the verdict on 7,796 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R8a decided 1,509 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All dark circles products →

Good choicefor DrynessJojoba Oil is a reference standard by mechanism for dryness; this cream carries it high in the ingredient list.Receipt1 source on the row · concentration not declared; studied range 1–100% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R5, same reading on 9,843 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Simmondsia Chinensis is a reference standard by mechanism for this concern — an established physical action, not a trial result.
  2. It is present at an effective concentration, declared or high in the ingredient list.
  3. The formula carries none of the triggers this concern is sensitive to.

Limited evidenceGentleNo reviews read yet

Same rule for everyone. “Good choice” is the verdict on 10,340 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R5 decided 9,843 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All dryness products →

Does the jobDoes what a eye cream is for: safe for eye skin, targets a real eye concern. Not measured from the label: hydrates without heaviness, stays where it's put.

A verdict is Dermington’s assessment of how well a product’s ingredients fit a concern — never a claim about what the product treats. Evidence dots and collected reviews sit beside it and are never blended in. Rules 0.5.1 · evidence table ev-2026.10-r231 · engine 5.2.0 · how we decide · this product’s receipt

Reader poll · Town SquareQuestion 1 of up to 3

Have you used Retinol Eye Cream?

One tap counts. A couple of optional follow-ups come next.

No account neededOne answer each, change it any timeCounted only in anonymous totalsHow the Square counts →
Assessment

Pros & cons

What it does well 7

  • Retinol cushioned by aloe, sunflower, jojoba and shea for a sting-free eye routine
  • Panthenol and real hyaluronic acid listed ahead of or beside the active
  • Completely unscented with no essential oils, unlike the brand's older eye cream
  • Lecithin plus two forms of vitamin E to stabilise the retinol
  • Doubles as a comfortable under-eye moisturizer on off nights
  • Rice-grain dosing stretches 15 mL to about three months
  • Green tea and centella extracts add antioxidant and barrier support

Where it falls short 6

  • Wide-mouth jar exposes a light- and air-sensitive active nightly
  • Retinol percentage is undisclosed and sits twentieth on the list
  • Results on fine lines are gradual and easy to mistake for nothing
  • Isopropyl palmitate may encourage milia on the under-eye
  • Propolis is an unnecessary allergen in a sensitive-area product
  • No caffeine or de-puffing agent, so it does nothing for bags
Review

The full review

Open the lid and the first thing to notice is how little this looks or feels like a retinol product. There is no thin, medicinal gel, no tingle on contact, no faint chemical note. What comes out of the squat black jar is a soft, sunflower-and-shea cream that melts into the skin under the eye like a good moisturizer and leaves a satin finish with no shine. That is entirely deliberate. Brickell has taken the same low-dose retinol and stabilising system it uses in its face serum, dropped it to twentieth position in a list of thirty-three, and built a small mountain of emollients and soothers above it: aloe juice as the very first ingredient, sunflower oil third, jojoba ninth, shea butter fourteenth, panthenol fifteenth. The result reads less like a treatment and more like a barrier cream that happens to carry a retinoid, and for the thin, reactive skin around a man's eyes, that is a defensible way to build one.

The brand's prior eye cream, still on sale, is a peptide-and-caffeine formula with glycolic and lactic acid and a bouquet of essential oils, which is a lot to ask of an eyelid. This jar, launched in July 2025, is its quieter sibling. There is no fragrance and no essential oil at all, no acids, and the only thing that could reasonably sting is a small amount of alcohol near the bottom of the list. A man who found the older cream too lively will find this one almost sedate. A rice-grain amount patted along the orbital bone at night disappears within a couple of minutes, and after a week the under-eye skin looks less crepey and feels noticeably softer, which is the emollients at work rather than the retinol. The retinol's contribution, softer crow's feet and a marginally thicker, less translucent under-eye, is a two-to-three-month project, and the lightly dosed active here means it will not be a fast one.

That pace is the honest price of the gentleness. Brickell publishes no percentage, and an ingredient placed after the emulsifiers, panthenol and green tea is a trace one. The published work on over-the-counter retinol used 0.1% and 0.4% products and still needed eight to twenty-four weeks to show measurable change in lines and collagen, so a dose that is almost certainly below that will show less and take longer. Nothing about the formula suggests it is a placebo, and lecithin plus two forms of vitamin E are the right escorts for keeping a small amount of retinol active. But anyone expecting a visible change in a month is expecting the wrong thing from this jar; it is a slow, kind introduction, not a corrective.

The surprises on the label are mostly pleasant. The hyaluronic acid is the real molecule, not the cassia seed gum Brickell labels as botanical hyaluronic acid across most of its range, though it sits after the retinol and contributes a light water-binding lift rather than plumping. Green tea, centella, horsetail and dandelion make up the antioxidant chorus familiar from the brand's serum, and centella in particular is a sensible companion to a retinoid. Panthenol ahead of the actives is the kind of choice a formulator makes when tolerability is the brief. The less welcome notes are isopropyl palmitate, a lightweight ester that can clog pores on skin that is prone to milia around the eyes, and propolis, a bee-derived allergen that has no obvious business in a product for sensitive lids.

Then there is the jar, which is the product's clearest mistake. Retinol is degraded by light and oxygen, and a wide-mouth pot opened every night exposes the cream's surface to both, no matter how much vitamin E is in the formula. An airless pump or a slim tube would have cost little more and preserved the one ingredient the product is named for. As it is, the practical advice is to keep the lid tight, keep the jar out of a sunny bathroom, use a clean fingertip, and finish it within six months. At a rice-grain per eye, fifteen millilitres lasts about three months, so that is achievable, but the packaging turns a minor storage habit into a requirement.

On price, forty-four dollars for fifteen millilitres is a little above what the dose supports. The base is good and the formula is thoughtful, and Brickell's decade of retail history gives some comfort that the cream is what it says it is, but a trace-dose retinol in an emollient carrier is not a rare thing, and several eye creams at or under this price state their retinol percentage and put it in a pump. The cost per night is reasonable, well under fifty cents, and the jar is not wasteful, so the value objection is one of comparison rather than of extravagance.

So who is it for? A man in his thirties or forties who wants to start retinol around the eyes and is more afraid of irritation than of slow results will find this a comfortable, unscented, sting-free way in, and one that doubles as a decent under-eye moisturizer on the nights he forgets to apply anything else. A man who already tolerates a face retinol nightly and wants something stronger for crow's feet will be underwhelmed and should look for a declared 0.1% or higher in a tube. The cream is honest about what it is, gentle in every way that matters, and let down only by an unstated dose and a container that works against its own headline ingredient.

The science

The question this eye cream raises is whether a trace dose of retinol in a rich emollient can still do retinol's job on periorbital skin, and the literature gives a cautious yes. Tucker-Samaras and colleagues, in the Journal of Drugs in Dermatology in 2009, ran an eight-week, double-blind, split-face study of a stabilised 0.1% retinol moisturizer against its vehicle in women with moderate photodamage and found significant improvements in lines, wrinkles, pigmentation, elasticity and firmness on the retinol side, showing that a low over-the-counter concentration, properly stabilised, produces measurable change in a couple of months. A 2024 integrated analysis in the same journal pooled vehicle-controlled data on 0.1% stabilised bioactive retinol and confirmed both its efficacy for photoaging and its tolerability, which is the balance an eye product must strike. Brickell does not state a percentage, and the retinol's position after the emulsifiers, panthenol and green tea implies a concentration below the 0.1% used in that work, so the expected effect is smaller and slower; what the formula does share with the studied products is a stabilising system, here lecithin, tocopheryl acetate and free tocopherol, and an emollient carrier, which matters because retinol's conversion to retinoic acid in the skin depends on the molecule surviving the bottle and the first minutes on the surface. That is where the jar undermines the science: retinol photodegrades and oxidises readily, and a wide-mouth container opened daily exposes the cream to light and air that a pump or tube would exclude, meaning the effective dose likely declines across the three months the jar lasts. The supporting cast is well chosen for the site. Panthenol has consistent evidence for reducing transepidermal water loss and irritation, aloe leaf juice and centella asiatica triterpenes both have data supporting barrier repair and reduced inflammation, and jojoba's wax esters mimic sebum closely enough to reduce the dryness retinoids cause. The dark-circle claim rests on retinol's ability to modestly thicken the epidermis over months, which can reduce the visibility of underlying vessels; there is no mechanism in this formula for pigment- or shadow-based circles, and no caffeine or vasoconstrictor for puffiness.

References 2 ShowHide
  1. A stabilized 0.1% retinol facial moisturizer improves the appearance of photodamaged skin in an eight-week, double-blind, vehicle-controlled study — Journal of Drugs in Dermatology (2009)
  2. Efficacy and Tolerability of Topical 0.1% Stabilized Bioactive Retinol for Photoaging: A Vehicle-Controlled Integrated Analysis — Journal of Drugs in Dermatology (2024)

The clinical view

The periorbital area is where clinicians most often see retinoid misuse, either a face-strength product dragged onto the lids or nothing at all out of fear, so a deliberately low-dose retinol in a heavily emollient base is the format most dermatology advice would endorse for a first attempt. The guidance that accompanies it is standard: apply at night to the orbital bone rather than the lash line, begin at two or three nights a week, follow with sunscreen every morning, and stop for a week if the lids become pink or scaly. Practitioners would note that the undisclosed concentration makes it impossible to place this cream on the usual ladder from 0.1% upward, that the jar is a poor choice for an oxygen-sensitive molecule, and that propolis and isopropyl palmitate are avoidable inclusions for a site prone to contact allergy and milia. For the vascular type of dark circle it may help marginally over months; for pigmented or structural circles it is not the right tool, and puffiness needs a different approach entirely. The usual caution against topical retinoids in pregnancy applies to eye products as much as to face products.

Formula

Key ingredients

  1. Retinol (Vitamin A)

    Twentieth in a thirty-three-ingredient list and undeclared in strength, which for an eye cream is arguably the right place for it: the periorbital skin is thin, and a trace dose carried in sunflower oil, shea and jojoba is how a retinol reaches crow's feet without peeling them. The trade-off is a jar, which lets light and air reach a molecule that dislikes both.

    Emerging for Aging
  2. Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil

    The wax ester that most closely resembles skin's own sebum, and here the ninth ingredient, so it is doing structural work rather than decorating the label. Combined with sunflower oil and shea butter it forms the emollient cushion that keeps a retinoid eye cream from tugging or flaking the lids.

    Established mechanism for Dryness · established mechanism
  3. Tocopheryl Acetate and Tocopherol (Vitamin E)

    Vitamin E appears twice, as the stable acetate ester mid-list and as free tocopherol lower down, a belt-and-braces approach to keeping the sunflower oil and the retinol from oxidising in an open jar. Lecithin sits beside them, which is the same stabilising trio Brickell uses in its retinol serum.

    Limited for Aging
  4. Hyaluronic Acid

    Unusually for Brickell this is real hyaluronic acid rather than the senna seed gum the brand often labels as botanical hyaluronic acid, though it sits twenty-first, just after the retinol, so the dose is a supporting one. In an emollient-heavy cream it adds a little water-binding lift under the eye rather than serious plumping.

    Established mechanism for Dryness · measured
  5. Panthenol (Vitamin B-5)

    A humectant and barrier-soothing agent placed fifteenth, ahead of the actives, which is the kind of inclusion that makes a retinol eye cream tolerable for daily use. Alongside the aloe juice that leads the list, it is what gives this cream its calming, non-stinging character.

    Not yet assessed
Full ingredient list 32 ingredients ShowHide

Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (Aloe), Aqua, Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil (Sunflower), Isopropyl Palmitate, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Stearic Acid, Simmondsia Chinensis Seed Oil (Jojoba), Phenoxyethanol, Lecithin, Pentylene Glycol, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Butyrospermum Parkii Butter (Shea Butter), Panthenol (Vitamin B-5), Xanthan Gum, Polysorbate 20, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract (Green Tea), Ethylhexylglycerin, Retinol (Vitamin A), Hyaluronic Acid, Alcohol, Potassium Phosphate, Sodium Hydroxide (Caustic Soda), Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Propolis Extract, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Centella Asiatica Extract (Gotu Kola), Equisetum Arvense Extract (Horsetail), Geranium Maculatum Extract (Wild Geranium), Taraxacum Officinale Extract (Dandelion)

Safety & formulation facts

  • Not pregnancy safe
  • Fragrance free
  • Not alcohol free
  • Not oil free
  • Silicone free
  • Paraben free
  • Sulfate free
  • Cruelty free
  • Not vegan
  • Not fungal-acne safe
Pore-clogging (comedogenic) Isopropyl Palmitate
Potential irritants RetinolAlcohol
Common allergens Propolis Extract
Compatibility

Skin types & routine

Routine step treatment
Time of day Night
Best season All year
Finish satin, non-greasy

Layering

Best used at night after serum and before or instead of a face moisturizer around the orbital bone; if the face routine already includes a retinol, skip that product on the eye area rather than doubling up, and in the morning it needs sunscreen over it.

When to expect results

The emollients smooth and soften the under-eye at once, so the area looks less crepey from the first week. Fine lines at the outer corner soften over eight to twelve weeks of nightly use; darker circles from thin skin may improve marginally over three months, while circles from pigment or shadow will not change.

Pairs well with ceramidespeptidesniacinamidesunscreen
Don't combine with glycolic-acidsalicylic-acid

A routine built around it

Morning

  1. Gentle cleanser
  2. Moisturizer
  3. Broad-spectrum SPF 30+ (over the eye area too)

Night

  1. Cleanser
  2. Serum
  3. Brickell Retinol Eye Creamthis product
  4. Night moisturizer
Guidance

How to use it, and who it's for

How to use

At night, after cleansing and any serum, take a rice-grain amount on a clean fingertip and pat it along the orbital bone beneath each eye and out toward the temple, keeping it well clear of the lash line and the moving lid. Do not rub; let it melt in for a minute before applying a face moisturizer around it. Start with two or three nights a week, move to nightly after a fortnight if there is no pinkness or flaking, and drop back to twice weekly if there is. Morning use is allowed but must be followed by sunscreen over the eye area. Keep the lid screwed tight, store the jar away from light and heat, and plan to finish it within six months of opening.

Is it worth the price?

Forty-four dollars for fifteen millilitres puts this at just under three dollars per millilitre, which is ordinary for an eye cream from a mid-priced brand and a little high for one whose active is present at a trace, undeclared level. A rice-grain amount per eye makes the jar last around three months, so the nightly cost is well under fifty cents, and the base is good enough that none of it is wasted even on nights when the retinol is the least of what it is doing. Brickell's decade in the market and its full ingredient disclosure count in its favour, but the brand publishes no clinical data and puts a light-sensitive active in a jar, and several competitors at the same price state their percentage and use a pump. Only one size is offered. Fair, not generous, and the jar is what keeps it from being a confident buy.

Who should buy it

Men who want to start using retinol around the eyes and would rather it be gentle than fast, especially those who found Brickell's acid-and-peptide eye cream too active or who react to essential oils. It suits normal, dry and combination skin, and anyone whose priority is softer crow's feet and less crepey under-eye texture over the course of a season rather than a month.

Who should skip it

Anyone already using a face retinol nightly and wanting a stronger, declared-strength eye treatment will find this too mild. Skip it too if you are prone to milia under the eyes, allergic to bee products, pregnant or breastfeeding, or if puffiness rather than lines is the problem, since there is nothing here to address bags.

Ready to try it?Brickell Retinol Eye Cream · $44.00 · 0.5 oz (15 mL)
Details

The product, in detail

Texture
A soft, medium-weight cream that melts on contact into a satin layer with a light emollient feel from the sunflower oil and shea, absorbing in a minute or two without slip or shine.
Scent
Nothing added; a faint, clean neutrality from the aloe and oils, with none of the brand's peppermint signature.
Packaging
A squat matte black 15 mL jar with a screw lid, labelled Retinol Eye Cream with retinol, jojoba and vitamin E called out; no spatula is included.
How long it lasts
Around three months at a rice-grain amount per eye once a night; closer to two if used morning and evening.
Once opened
Use within 6 months · track your toss-by date →
Size
0.5 oz (15 mL)
Made in
United States
Launched
July 2025

What the first two weeks feel like

Most people notice only softer, less crepey under-eye skin in the first week, with no sting and no flaking, which is what a low-dose retinol in a rich base should do. A minority with reactive lids may see mild dryness or pinkness around week two; the brand's own advice to drop to twice weekly usually resolves it.

The story behind it

Why it exists

For a decade Brickell's only eye product was a peptide-and-caffeine cream, and men wanting retinol around the eyes had to borrow the brand's face products. This jar arrived in July 2025 to fill that gap, sharing its stabilising system and antioxidant extracts with the retinol serum launched the year before, and was positioned for all skin types under the brand's sensitive-skin collection.

About Brickell Established Brand (5–20 years)

Brickell, a Maine men's grooming company founded in 2014, has over a decade of sales history and publishes complete ingredient lists but conducts no clinical trials of its own products and does not disclose the retinol concentration here. This eye cream reached the brand's store in July 2025 as a retinol-based alternative to its long-standing peptide eye cream and is still in its first year on the market.

Brand founded 2014 · This product since 2025

Myth vs. reality

What people get wrong about it

MythRetinol should never go near the eyes.

RealityRetinol should not go in the eyes, but the skin around them is where retinoids have some of their best-documented effects on fine lines. A low dose in an emollient base like this one, kept on the orbital bone rather than the lash line, is exactly how dermatologists suggest introducing it there.

MythAn eye cream with retinol will get rid of dark circles.

RealityRetinol can slightly thicken the thin under-eye skin over months, which makes the blue vessels beneath a little less visible, but it does nothing for circles caused by pigment, allergies or the natural hollow beneath the eye. Expect a modest change at best, and only for the vascular kind.

FAQ

Questions people ask

How is the Brickell Retinol Eye Cream different from the Brickell Restoring Eye Cream?

They are different formulas for different jobs. The Restoring Eye Cream is the older peptide product with caffeine, vitamin C and fruit acids for puffiness and brightness, while this one drops the acids and peptides and builds a gentler, more emollient cream around a low dose of retinol, jojoba and vitamin E for fine lines. Men with reactive eyelids will find this one the calmer of the two.

How much retinol is in the Brickell Retinol Eye Cream?

Brickell does not publish a percentage. Retinol is the twentieth of thirty-three ingredients, after the oils, emulsifiers and panthenol, which points to a low, eye-appropriate dose rather than the strength found in a face serum. That is reasonable for periorbital skin but means results will be gradual.

Can I use the Brickell Retinol Eye Cream every night?

Brickell says it is suitable for daily use, and the low dose plus the aloe, sunflower and shea base make that realistic for most men. If dryness or flaking appears around the second week, the brand's own advice is to cut back to twice a week until it settles, and morning use should always be followed by sunscreen.

Does the jar packaging affect the retinol in this eye cream?

It is the weakest point of the product. Retinol degrades with light and oxygen, and a wide-mouth jar opened nightly exposes the surface of the cream to both, even with the vitamin E and lecithin included as antioxidants. Keep the lid tight, store it away from the bathroom window and aim to finish it within six months of opening.

Is the Brickell Retinol Eye Cream safe for sensitive skin?

It is one of the more tolerable ways to try retinol around the eyes because the active is lightly dosed and cushioned by aloe, panthenol and three emollient oils. The list does include a small amount of alcohol and propolis, so anyone with a propolis or bee-product allergy should patch test first, and rosacea-prone skin should start at two nights a week.

Will the Brickell Retinol Eye Cream help with puffiness or bags?

Not really. There is no caffeine or other de-puffing agent in this formula; its targets are fine lines, crepey texture and, to a lesser degree, dark circles caused by thin skin. Brickell's peptide eye cream is the brand's answer for puffiness.

Reviews

What shoppers tend to say

Recurring themes our editors read across retailer reviews — summaries in our words, not quotations, and not a substitute for a patch test.

Common praise

  • No stinging around the eyes
  • Under-eye skin feels smoother and less dry
  • Absorbs without greasiness
  • Unscented

Common complaints

  • Jar rather than a pump or tube
  • Retinol strength not stated
  • Hard to judge results this early
Next stepCheck it against what you already useClashes, spacing and the right order, with everything on your shelf.