Some By Mi Retinol Retinal Firming Body Cream 200 mL tube
Good choice for Aging
What makes this different

Body retinoids usually come one of two ways — a face-strength serum sold in a small bottle at a price that punishes covering a whole arm, or a drugstore lotion with a token retinyl palmitate. This one stacks retinol, retinaldehyde, bakuchiol and retinyl palmitate over a niacinamide-heavy shea base in a 200 mL tube at a K-beauty price, and it is built as an actual moisturizer rather than a treatment you must layer under one.

Some By Mi

Some By Mi Retinol Retinal Firming Body Cream Review

Body Retinoid Starter Body Care cream k beauty Paraben free Cruelty free

A genuinely good body moisturizer with a retinoid whisper in it. Retinol, retinal and bakuchiol are all present but all low, so the visible work in the first month comes from shea, niacinamide and hydration, with the vitamin A forms earning their place slowly on crepey forearms and bumpy upper arms. Fairly priced for 200 mL, softly fragranced, and a sensible first body retinoid — just do not expect anything to tighten.

Price $24.99 200 mL / 6.76 fl oz
Shopper rating 4.1 ★★★★★ 66 reviews
On the market 2026 Made in South Korea
Best for drynormal
Buy at Amazon ♥
Verdicts

How well it fits each concern

With a mid-2026 US launch and fewer than a hundred retailer ratings, this cream has not yet been through a full twelve-week retinoid cycle in enough hands to know how body skin tolerates it or how much the crepiness claims hold. The judgement above rests on the disclosed formula, the published trials of retinol, retinaldehyde and bakuchiol at higher facial concentrations, and Some By Mi's handling of the same actives in its face line since 2021; user experience will fill in the rest over the coming year.

One verdict per concern. Open a row for the reasoning; the receipt has every source.

The scaleRecommendedGoodSupportingEarly evidenceNot for thisAvoidhow it works

Good choicefor AgingRetinol is a trial-supported active for aging; this cream carries it, though the concentration is not declared.Receipt4 sources on the row · concentration not declared; studied range 0.075–0.5% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R5, same reading on 9,843 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Retinol has trial-supported standing for this concern.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Moderate evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Good choice” is the verdict on 10,340 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R5 decided 9,843 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All aging products →

Good choicefor DrynessShea Butter is a reference standard by mechanism for dryness; this cream carries it.Receipt2 sources on the row · concentration not declared; studied range 1–100% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R5, same reading on 9,843 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Shea Butter + Squalane + Ceramide NP is a reference standard by mechanism for this concern — an established physical action, not a trial result.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Limited evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

Cautions: fragrance.

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Good choice” is the verdict on 10,340 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R5 decided 9,843 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All dryness products →

Supporting rolefor Keratosis PilarisNothing here targets keratosis pilaris directly; emollient hydration is the recognised companion to treating it, and this cream does that without known triggers.ReceiptNiacinamide: no evidence row for this concern yet · rule R8, same reading on 3,793 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Niacinamide has no evidence row yet for this concern — it is in the research queue.
  2. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Not from a trial rowStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

What would change this: A researched evidence row for the lead active would replace this with a verdict.

Same rule for everyone. “Supporting role” is the verdict on 7,796 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R8 decided 3,793 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All keratosis pilaris products →How keratosis pilaris is treated →

Promisingfor Sun DamageNiacinamide has trial-level evidence for sun damage but no guideline or regulatory standing yet — promising, short of a recommendation; the other actives here are not yet assessed for it.Receipt4 sources on the row · concentration not declared; studied range 5–10% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R9p, same reading on 4,872 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Niacinamide has at least one trial behind it for this concern but no guideline or regulatory standing yet.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Moderate evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Promising” is the verdict on 4,872 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R9p decided 4,872 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All sun damage products →

Also listed for Rough Texture — the actives here (Niacinamide, Retinol, Bakuchiol, Retinal (Retinaldehyde) are in our research queue for that concern; there is no verdict until their evidence rows are written. That is a gap in our table, not a mark against the product.

As a body productNot judged: what a body product is for — real substance, not just slip, realistic to use daily — cannot yet be measured from the ingredient list (only fragrance load can).

A verdict is Dermington’s assessment of how well a product’s ingredients fit a concern — never a claim about what the product treats. Evidence dots and collected reviews sit beside it and are never blended in. Rules 0.5.1 · evidence table ev-2026.10-r231 · engine 5.2.0 · how we decide · this product’s receipt

Reader poll · Town SquareQuestion 1 of up to 3

Have you used Retinol Retinal Firming Body Cream?

One tap counts. A couple of optional follow-ups come next.

No account neededOne answer each, change it any timeCounted only in anonymous totalsHow the Square counts →
Assessment

Pros & cons

What it does well 7

  • Three retinoid routes at body-safe doses in one moisturizer
  • Niacinamide sits eighth, ahead of every oil and every retinoid
  • Rich shea, almond and squalane base wears as a real body cream
  • Generous 200 mL tube at a body-lotion price
  • Gentle enough for nightly use without peeling on most skin
  • Helps keratosis pilaris bumps and crepey forearms over weeks
  • Opaque tube protects the light-sensitive vitamin A forms

Where it falls short 6

  • Added fragrance and herb extracts in a retinoid body product
  • Retinol, retinal and bakuchiol percentages are not disclosed
  • Too heavy for oily or acne-prone body skin, especially in summer
  • Firming claim overstates what low-dose retinoids can deliver
  • Not suitable during pregnancy or breastfeeding
  • Only a few months of real-world use behind it
Review

The full review

Anyone who has tried to retinize their body runs into the same arithmetic. A face retinol serum holds thirty millilitres and is dosed for an area the size of a saucer; spread it over two forearms and a chest and the bottle is gone in a fortnight at a cost that makes you question your priorities. The drugstore alternative is a body lotion with retinyl palmitate buried at the end of the list, which is vitamin A in roughly the way a raisin is a grape. Between those two poles there has been surprisingly little, and it is into that gap that Some By Mi has aimed its Retinol Retinal Firming Body Cream, a 200 mL tube that landed on Olive Young and Amazon in mid-2026 and costs about what a decent body lotion does.

The brand's face retinol line has been around since 2021 and has always been pitched at beginners, which turns out to be exactly the right sensibility for a body product. Body skin is thicker on the thighs and thinner on the inner arms, it gets shaved and towelled and rubbed by clothing, and nobody is going to apply a retinoid to it with the precision they bring to their cheekbones. So the question a body retinoid needs to answer is not how strong it can be but how much vitamin A it can carry while still being something you will slather on nightly without thinking. Some By Mi's answer is three forms at low doses: retinol first, then bakuchiol, then retinal, with a trace of retinyl palmitate at the very end. All of them sit in the back third of the ingredient list, behind the fragrance, behind the preservative, behind the thickener. Nobody should mistake that for three times the strength. It is three routes to a similar cellular target, each gentle enough that the sum stays tolerable across a large area, and the retinal in particular is more of a family resemblance to the face line than a dose that changes what the cream does.

What changes what the cream does is everything above the retinoids. Niacinamide is eighth, ahead of the dimethicone and the almond oil, which for a body product is generous, and it is doing real work — supporting the barrier the retinoids will mildly stress, evening the mottled tone that sun-exposed forearms acquire, and quieting the redness around the little keratin plugs of keratosis pilaris. Shea butter is seventh, which is why this feels like a proper cream rather than a lotion, and it is backed by sweet almond and soybean oils, squalane, glyceryl glucoside and a small stack of hyaluronic acid weights. Ceramide NP appears near the end, a gesture rather than a dose. The texture that all this produces is dense and off-white, a cream that softens as you massage it and takes half a minute to disappear, leaving a cushioned satin finish that does not slick a pyjama sleeve. On dry winter shins it is exactly right. On an oily back in July it is too much, and this is not a cream for the acne-prone trunk.

The fragrance deserves its own paragraph because retinoid products, even body ones, usually manage without it. Some By Mi has added one, and it names helichrysum as the scent — a warm, hay-and-lavender note that is soft and fades within ten minutes, but is there, and sits alongside a roster of herb extracts (lavender, sage, oregano, echinacea, peony) that are more perfumery than pharmacology. For most people this is a pleasant evening smell. For anyone with reactive or eczema-prone body skin it is the reason to hesitate, because a fragranced retinoid across a large area is two known irritants applied generously, and the herb extracts add a handful of potential allergens on top. It is the single formulation choice I would reverse.

Used as intended — every other night for a fortnight, then nightly, on the arms, décolletage, stomach and thighs after a shower — the cream behaves like a good moisturizer first. Crepey forearms look better hydrated within days, which is the shea and glycerin talking, and the backs of the upper arms feel smoother by the third or fourth week as the low-dose retinoids and niacinamide start to move the keratosis pilaris along. A few users report light flaking there in the first weeks, which settles. Real change in the finely lined, sun-worn look of forearms and chest takes the full ten to twelve weeks that any retinoid needs, and at these concentrations it is a gentle shift rather than a transformation. As for the word on the tube: nothing in this cream, or any cream, tightens skin that has lost its elastin. What low-dose retinoids can do over months is thicken the epidermis and improve the surface, which reads as firmer. That is the honest version of the firming claim, and it is worth having, but the stomach after a pregnancy or the arms after a large weight loss are beyond what a moisturizer does.

At around twenty-five dollars for 200 mL, and often on sale for a little over twenty, the cream sits where body lotions live rather than where retinoids live, and the maths that punishes face serums works the other way here: nightly use over arms, chest and thighs lasts six to eight weeks, which is a reasonable spend for a product that is simultaneously your body moisturizer and your body retinoid. Some By Mi is a nine-year-old brand with no clinical trials of its own products, and this cream has been on US shelves for only a few months with a lukewarm early Amazon rating, so what you are buying is a well-reasoned formula from a brand that has handled these actives responsibly on faces for five years, not a proven body treatment.

The person this suits is someone with dry or normal body skin who wants a first body retinoid they can use without ceremony, who is bothered by crepey forearms, bumpy upper arms or the general roughness that sun and years leave on the décolletage, and who does not mind a soft fragrance. Skip it if your body skin is reactive or eczema-prone, if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, or if what you want is a visible tightening — that last thing does not come in a tube, and the good news about this one is that it does not really pretend otherwise once you read past the name.

The science

The cream borrows its evidence from the face and asks it to travel. Topical retinol's effect on photoaged skin is among the better-documented findings in cosmetic dermatology; a 2007 randomised, double-blind study in the Archives of Dermatology by Kafi and colleagues applied 0.4% retinol lotion to the upper inner arm of elderly subjects three times a week for 24 weeks and found significant reductions in fine wrinkling alongside increased glycosaminoglycan expression and procollagen I — notably, that trial was itself conducted on body skin, which makes it unusually relevant here, though at a dose almost certainly higher than this cream carries. Retinaldehyde's credentials come from a 1994 Journal of Investigative Dermatology paper by Saurat and colleagues, which established that topical retinal is well tolerated and produces retinoid-type epidermal changes at 0.05%, a finding that underpins its reputation as the more potent, still-cosmetic vitamin A form. Bakuchiol earned its 'plant retinol' label through a 2019 randomised, double-blind trial in the British Journal of Dermatology, where 0.5% bakuchiol twice daily matched 0.5% retinol once daily in reducing wrinkle area and hyperpigmentation over twelve weeks with less scaling and stinging.

The catch is the doses. All three appear in the lower third of this cream's ingredient list, and Some By Mi does not disclose percentages, so none of the trial concentrations can be assumed. What can be said is that the cream's meaningful active load is niacinamide, positioned eighth, and that niacinamide's barrier-strengthening and pigment-evening effects at 2 to 5% are consistently supported in the literature. The four peptides at the very bottom — acetyl hexapeptide-8, palmitoyl pentapeptide-4, palmitoyl tripeptide-1 and two oligopeptides — sit at levels well below those used in the small industry-funded studies that generated their claims, and should be read as label decoration. The formulation logic, then, is sound: multiple low-dose retinoids for tolerability across a large surface, a substantial niacinamide and lipid base to carry them, and a body-skin precedent in the Kafi trial for the general approach. What is missing is any test of this product, at these concentrations, on body skin.

References 3 ShowHide
  1. Improvement of naturally aged skin with vitamin A (retinol) — Archives of Dermatology (2007)
  2. Prospective, randomized, double-blind assessment of topical bakuchiol and retinol for facial photoageing — British Journal of Dermatology (2019)
  3. Topical retinaldehyde on human skin: biologic effects and tolerance — Journal of Investigative Dermatology (1994)

The clinical view

Clinicians who see patients asking about crepey arms and rough, bumpy thighs generally regard low-dose retinoids as one of the few topical routes with a plausible mechanism, and the precedent is not merely theoretical: the best-known retinol trial in older adults was run on inner-arm skin. A body cream that keeps the retinoid load light, leads with niacinamide and wraps both in a substantial emollient base is a reasonable starting point for keratosis pilaris and mild photoaging on the extremities, and the fact that it doubles as the moisturizer makes adherence easier than layering a serum under a lotion. The reservations are predictable. Fragrance and a long list of botanical extracts are unwelcome in a leave-on retinoid meant for large areas, particularly for patients with atopic tendencies, and the undisclosed concentrations mean the clinician cannot gauge how much vitamin A a patient is actually applying. Standard advice would be to start on alternate nights, to expect texture improvement before any change in laxity, to be clear that no cream reverses skin that has stretched, and to avoid the product entirely during pregnancy and lactation. For genuine skin laxity, energy-based devices and, where appropriate, surgery remain the conversation — a body cream is maintenance, not correction.

Formula

Key ingredients

  1. Retinol

    The first of the three vitamin A forms in the cream, placed just after the fragrance and preservatives, which puts it at a fraction of a percent — a body-appropriate starter dose that nudges cell turnover on the upper arms and thighs without the peeling a face-strength retinol would cause over that much skin.

    Emerging for Aging
  2. Retinal (Retinaldehyde)

    Sits a few places behind the retinol at a trace level; retinaldehyde converts to retinoic acid in one step rather than two, so even a small amount adds potency per molecule — here it is more a nod to the brand's face line than a dose that changes the cream's behaviour.

    Not yet assessed
  3. Bakuchiol

    Listed between the retinol and the retinal, the plant-derived retinoid alternative gives the cream a third route to the same collagen-supporting gene targets while contributing antioxidant and calming activity that helps the low-dose retinoids stay tolerable on a large area.

    Limited for Aging
  4. Niacinamide

    Eighth on the list and well ahead of every retinoid, niacinamide is doing more of the visible work than the name on the tube suggests — supporting the barrier the retinoids stress, evening the mottled tone of sun-exposed forearms and helping keratosis-pilaris bumps look less red.

    Limited for Aging
  5. Shea Butter + Squalane + Ceramide NP

    Shea butter in seventh place with sweet almond and soybean oils builds the rich cushion that makes a retinoid cream wearable on dry, crepey body skin; squalane and a trace of ceramide NP round out a lipid layer that offsets the mild dryness the vitamin A forms bring.

    Established mechanism for Dryness · established mechanism
  6. Peptide Complex (Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-1)

    Four signal peptides close the list at the lowest positions, lending the 'firming' claim a second mechanism on paper; at these levels they are a marketing garnish on a retinoid-and-niacinamide cream rather than a dose the peptide trials used.

    Not yet assessed
Full ingredient list 62 ingredients ShowHide

Water, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Coco-Caprylate/Caprate, Methylpropanediol, Glycerin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Niacinamide, Dimethicone, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Glyceryl Glucoside, 1,2-Hexanediol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Glyceryl Stearate, Coptis Japonica Root Extract, Butylene Glycol, Hydroxyacetophenone, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Carbomer, Fragrance, Arginine, Ethylhexylglycerin, Retinol, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Polyacrylate, Bakuchiol, Glucose, Retinal, Caffeine, Panthenol, Squalane, Tocopherol, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Lecithin, Polysorbate 20, Tremella Fuciformis (Mushroom) Extract, Dipropylene Glycol, Pentylene Glycol, Echinacea Angustifolia Extract, Helichrysum Italicum Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract, Origanum Vulgare Extract, Paeonia Lactiflora Extract, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium Hyaluronate Crosspolymer, Hydrolyzed Hyaluronic Acid, Hyaluronic Acid, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Anemarrhena Asphodeloides Root Extract, Phytosterols, Hydrolyzed Sodium Hyaluronate, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Glutathione, Oligopeptide-29, Oligopeptide-32, Ceramide NP, Retinyl Palmitate, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-1

Safety & formulation facts

  • Not pregnancy safe
  • Not fragrance free
  • Alcohol free
  • Not oil free
  • Not silicone free
  • Paraben free
  • Sulfate free
  • Cruelty free
  • Not vegan
  • Not fungal-acne safe
Pore-clogging (comedogenic) shea buttersweet almond oilsoybean oilcoco-caprylate/caprate
Potential irritants fragranceretinolretinallavender extractsage extractoregano extract
Common allergens fragrancesweet almond oillavender extractsoybean oil
Compatibility

Skin types & routine

Routine step moisturizer
Time of day Night
Best season fall & winter
Finish velvety, satin

Layering

Treat it as your evening body moisturizer for the arms, décolletage, stomach and thighs rather than a spot treatment — it is rich enough to be the last step. Start every other night for two weeks, skip nights when you have used a body acid or shaved the area, and put a broad-spectrum sunscreen on any treated skin that will see daylight the next day.

When to expect results

Immediate: a rich, well-hydrated feel and softer-looking crepey skin from the shea and glycerin alone. Short term (3-4 weeks): smoother texture on the upper arms and thighs, with keratosis-pilaris bumps less prominent. Full effect (10-12 weeks): mild improvement in the crepiness and tone of sun-exposed forearms and décolletage — at these retinoid doses, expect a gentle shift rather than a visible firming.

Pairs well with gentle cream body washurea or lactic acid body lotion on alternate nightsbody sunscreenceramide body balm for very dry patches
Don't combine with glycolic or lactic acid body lotions on the same nightbenzoyl peroxide body washesprescription retinoids on the same area

A routine built around it

Morning

  1. Body wash
  2. Lightweight body lotion or none
  3. Body sunscreen on exposed skin

Night

  1. Body wash
  2. THIS PRODUCT (arms, décolletage, stomach, thighs)
Guidance

How to use it, and who it's for

How to use

After an evening shower, pat the skin dry and massage a generous amount into the areas you want to treat — upper arms, forearms, décolletage, stomach, thighs — until it disappears, which takes about thirty seconds given how rich it is. Begin every other night for the first two weeks, then move to nightly if there is no flaking. Skip it on nights you have shaved or used an acid body lotion, and keep it off the face and off any broken or eczematous skin. In the morning, put a body sunscreen on any treated area that will be uncovered. It works as a stand-alone body moisturizer, so nothing needs to go over it; very dry shins or elbows can take a plain balm on top.

Is it worth the price?

Body retinoids have always had a pricing problem — the good ones are dosed for faces and priced per ounce, so covering two arms turns a serum into a running cost — and at roughly twenty-five dollars for 200 mL, often discounted to around twenty, this cream sidesteps it. You are paying body-lotion money for a product that is your moisturizer and your low-dose retinoid in one tube, and nightly use over arms, chest and thighs runs six to eight weeks, which puts it at a few dollars a week. The formula earns the price: real amounts of niacinamide and shea, three vitamin A forms, published INCI. What you are not paying for is proof — Some By Mi is a young brand without clinical trials on its own products and this cream has months, not years, of use behind it — and the fragrance is a cost some skin will not want to bear. Only one size exists, so there is no larger-format saving.

Who should buy it

People with dry or normal body skin who want to try a retinoid on the body without the cost or peeling of a face-strength product, especially anyone bothered by crepey forearms, rough upper arms with keratosis pilaris, or a sun-worn décolletage. It suits those who like a rich, softly scented night cream and have the patience for a three-month timeline.

Who should skip it

Reactive, eczema-prone or fragrance-sensitive body skin should pass, and so should anyone pregnant or breastfeeding, given the three vitamin A forms. It is also the wrong cream for oily or acne-prone backs and chests, and for anyone whose actual goal is tightening loose skin, which no topical product delivers.

Ready to try it?Some By Mi Retinol Retinal Firming Body Cream · $24.99 · 200 mL / 6.76 fl oz
Details

The product, in detail

Texture
A dense, off-white cream with the body of a shea-based balm that softens on contact and takes a good half-minute of massaging to sink in; once it does, the finish is cushioned and slightly satin rather than slick.
Scent
A soft herbal-floral fragrance — the brand lists helichrysum as the scent note — that reads as lavender and warm hay and fades within ten minutes of application.
Packaging
A 200 mL squeeze tube with a flip cap, opaque to protect the retinoids from light; the tube stands on its cap and dispenses controllably, though the last tenth takes some coaxing out.
How long it lasts
About 6-8 weeks with nightly use on arms, décolletage and thighs; closer to 3 months if you limit it to the arms and chest.
Once opened
Use within 12 months · track your toss-by date →
Size
200 mL / 6.76 fl oz
Made in
South Korea
Launched
2026

What the first two weeks feel like

The first few applications feel like a good rich body cream and nothing more — no tingle, no warmth, and none of the dryness a face retinol announces itself with. Over the first two weeks some people notice mild flaking on the backs of the upper arms, where skin is thinnest and keratosis pilaris tends to sit; this settles once the cream is used every other night, and crepey forearms start looking better hydrated well before anything the retinoids do becomes visible.

The story behind it

Why it exists

Some By Mi's Retinol Intense line launched in 2021 as a beginner-friendly face retinol and has since grown an eye cream, a bakuchiol dual cream and a bubble toner. The body cream arrived in mid-2026 as Korean body care pivoted toward 'well-aging' claims — firming, crepiness, loose skin — rather than simple hydration, and it went on sale at Olive Young and Amazon US almost simultaneously with its Korean debut.

About Some By Mi Emerging Brand (2–5 years)

Some By Mi, founded in 2017, has run a Retinol Intense face line since 2021 and this body cream carries that franchise onto the arms, stomach and thighs. The brand publishes complete ingredient lists and leans on well-studied actives at undisclosed, conservative doses; it does not publish clinical trials on its own products, and this cream reached US retailers only in mid-2026.

Brand founded 2017 · This product since 2026

Myth vs. reality

What people get wrong about it

MythThree retinoids in one cream means it is three times as strong as a normal retinol product.

RealityRetinol, retinal and retinyl palmitate all appear in the last third of the ingredient list, which places each at a fraction of a percent. Stacking three low doses is a way of hedging tolerability across a large area, not a way of multiplying strength — this is a starter-level body retinoid, gentler than most face serums.

MythA firming body cream can tighten loose skin on the stomach or arms.

RealityNo topical cream re-tightens skin that has lost elastin. Low-dose retinoids and niacinamide can thicken the outer layers over months and improve the crepey, finely lined look of sun-exposed skin, which reads as firmer; genuinely loose skin after weight change is beyond what any moisturizer does.

FAQ

Questions people ask

How strong is the retinol in the Some By Mi Retinol Retinal Firming Body Cream?

Some By Mi does not disclose the percentages, but retinol, bakuchiol and retinal all sit in the last third of the ingredient list behind the fragrance and preservatives, so each is present at a fraction of a percent. Treat it as a gentle, beginner-level body retinoid rather than a face-strength treatment stretched over the body.

Can I use this body cream on my face or neck?

It is formulated for the body — the shea, almond and soybean oils are heavier than most faces want and the fragrance level is higher than the brand's face retinols. The neck and décolletage are fine, since that skin behaves more like body skin, but keep it off the face and use one of the Retinol Intense face products there instead.

Will the Retinol Retinal Firming Body Cream help keratosis pilaris?

Modestly, yes. Low-dose retinoids encourage the plugged follicles behind KP bumps to shed, and the niacinamide, which sits high in the formula, tones down the redness around them. Pair it with a lactic acid or urea body lotion on alternate nights for a faster result on stubborn upper-arm bumps.

Is this body cream safe to use while pregnant or breastfeeding?

It contains retinol, retinal and retinyl palmitate, and standard guidance is to avoid all topical vitamin A derivatives during pregnancy and while breastfeeding regardless of dose. Choose a body cream with niacinamide, shea and ceramides but no retinoids until you have finished, or ask your doctor.

Do I need sunscreen on my body when using a retinol body cream?

On any skin the cream treats that will be uncovered the next day — forearms, décolletage, calves in summer — yes. Retinoids increase the skin's sensitivity to UV, and sun exposure also degrades the benefit you are paying for. Apply the cream at night and a body sunscreen in the morning on exposed areas.

How long until I see firmer skin from the Some By Mi body cream?

Hydration and softness are immediate from the shea and glycerin. Smoother texture on the arms and thighs shows within three or four weeks, and any change to the crepey, finely lined look of sun-exposed forearms takes ten to twelve weeks of consistent use — and will be subtle at these retinoid doses.

Reviews

What shoppers tend to say

Recurring themes our editors read across retailer reviews — summaries in our words, not quotations, and not a substitute for a patch test.

Common praise

  • Rich without feeling greasy once absorbed
  • Arms and thighs feel smoother within a few weeks
  • Gentle enough for nightly use without peeling
  • Generous 200 mL tube for a retinoid product

Common complaints

  • Fragrance is noticeable for a retinoid body cream
  • Firming effect is subtle at best
  • Retinoid percentages are not disclosed
  • Too heavy for humid weather or oily body skin
Notable endorsementsBody extension of Some By Mi's Retinol Intense franchise, on sale since 2021Listed at Olive Young Global and Amazon US within weeks of its Korean launch
Next stepCheck it against what you already useClashes, spacing and the right order, with everything on your shelf.