Aesop Lucent Facial Refiner 60 mL amber jar
Not yet assessed for Dullness
What makes this different

It leads with a polyhydroxy acid in second place and demotes the salicylic acid to a supporting role, wraps both in jojoba, triolein and free fatty acids, and adds panthenol and vitamin E, so the mask exfoliates and replenishes in the same fifteen minutes. Six years of in-house development and Aesop's first use of BHA and PHA in one product make it a considered launch rather than a trend response.

Aesop

Aesop Lucent Facial Refiner Review

Gentle Luxury Exfoliating Mask Masks cream luxury Paraben free Vegan Not cruelty free

Aesop's first acid product, six years in the making, is a gentle PHA-led rinse-off mask with a supporting dose of salicylic acid, real barrier lipids and vitamins B5 and E, and it leaves skin smoother and calmer than most exfoliants manage. It is also $97 for 60 mL and perfumed with six listed allergens, which keeps it a luxury indulgence rather than a smart buy for anyone who simply wants a good PHA mask.

Price $97.00 60 mL (2 fl oz)
Shopper rating 4.5 ★★★★★ 150 reviews
On the market 2025 Made in Australia
Buy at Amazon ♥
Verdicts

How well it fits each concern

Lucent Facial Refiner has been on sale for roughly eighteen months and has accumulated only a modest number of retailer reviews, with no published product trial to draw on. The assessment therefore rests on the ingredient order, the well-established polyhydroxy and salicylic acid literature and Aesop's formulation record; long-term user patterns, particularly on fragrance tolerance, are still forming.

One verdict per concern. Open a row for the reasoning; the receipt has every source.

The scaleRecommendedGoodSupportingEarly evidenceNot for thisAvoidhow it works

Good choicefor Rough TextureSalicylic Acid is a reference standard by mechanism for rough texture; this cream carries it.Receipt2 sources on the row · concentration not declared; studied range 0.5–2% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R5, same reading on 9,843 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Salicylic Acid is a reference standard by mechanism for this concern — an established physical action, not a trial result.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Limited evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Good choice” is the verdict on 10,340 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R5 decided 9,843 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All rough texture products →How rough texture is treated →

Not for thisfor Large PoresThe actives here have been researched for large pores and the evidence does not support the claim.Receipt4 sources on the row · concentration not declared; studied range 0.5–2% · rule R10, same reading on 489 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Salicylic Acid has been researched for this concern and the evidence does not support it.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Not from a trial rowStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Not for this” is the verdict on 489 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R10 decided 489 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All large pores products →

Strong choicefor BlackheadsSalicylic Acid is an approved or monograph active for blackheads; this cream carries it, though the concentration is not declared.Receipt21 CFR § 333.350 - Labeling of acne drug products. (opened Jul 27, 2026) · concentration not declared; studied range 0.5–2% · row checked Jul 27, 2026 · rule R3, same reading on 570 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Salicylic Acid is an approved or monograph active for this concern.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Moderate evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

Cautions: fungal-acne triggers.

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Strong choice” is the verdict on 1,475 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R3 decided 570 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All blackheads products →How blackheads is treated →

Also listed for Dullness — the actives here (Gluconolactone, Jojoba Oil, Fatty Acids, Panthenol (Vitamin B5) are in our research queue for that concern; there is no verdict until their evidence rows are written. That is a gap in our table, not a mark against the product.

As a maskNot judged: what a mask is for — works within its wear time, benefit outlasts the mask, comes off cleanly — cannot yet be measured from the ingredient list (only intensity without injury can).

A verdict is Dermington’s assessment of how well a product’s ingredients fit a concern — never a claim about what the product treats. Evidence dots and collected reviews sit beside it and are never blended in. Rules 0.5.1 · evidence table ev-2026.10-r231 · engine 5.2.0 · how we decide · this product’s receipt

Reader poll · Town SquareQuestion 1 of up to 3

Have you used Lucent Facial Refiner?

One tap counts. A couple of optional follow-ups come next.

No account neededOne answer each, change it any timeCounted only in anonymous totalsHow the Square counts →
Assessment

Pros & cons

What it does well 7

  • Gluconolactone in second place, a genuine PHA dose that exfoliates without sting
  • Low-dose salicylic acid reaches pores through the oil phase
  • Jojoba, triolein and free fatty acids leave skin conditioned, not stripped
  • Panthenol, bisabolol and vitamin E calm and protect freshly exfoliated skin
  • No redness, flaking or downtime; safe for twice-weekly use
  • Amber glass jar shields the plant oils; a jar lasts about three months
  • Six years of in-house development and Aesop's first acid formula

Where it falls short 5

  • $97 for 60 mL of a twice-weekly rinse-off mask
  • Six listed fragrance allergens from frankincense, sandalwood and rose oils
  • Effect is gradual and subtle next to stronger acid treatments
  • Soybean oil and oleic acid may bother fungal-acne-prone skin
  • Acid percentages undisclosed and no product trial published
Review

The full review

For nearly forty years Aesop did not sell an acid. The brand that built a global following on parsley seed, quartz scrub and the smell of its stores held out through the entire AHA and BHA boom, and it took a change of ownership, L'Oréal's 2023 acquisition, before the Melbourne laboratory released the product it had reportedly been developing for six years. Lucent Facial Refiner is that product: a rinse-off mask with a polyhydroxy acid in second place and a beta hydroxy acid much lower, and the first time either has appeared on an Aesop label. The interesting question is not whether it works, because PHAs do, but whether six years bought anything that a twenty-dollar gluconolactone mask does not.

The ingredient order answers half of it. Water, then gluconolactone, then propanediol and glycerin, then the oil phase of coco-caprylate, jojoba and triolein. Putting the PHA second is a commitment; gluconolactone is the gentlest of the hydroxy acids, a large molecule that penetrates slowly and holds water while it works, and a mask that uses it at this level can be left on for fifteen minutes without the sting an alpha hydroxy acid would bring. Salicylic acid appears twenty-third, just after the preservative, which places it at a supporting dose that rides the oil phase into pores rather than driving the exfoliation. Around them Aesop has arranged its vitamin story: linoleic and the other free fatty acids as vitamin F, panthenol as B5, tocopherol and its acetate as E. Bisabolol and saccharide isomerate sit mid-list for calm and moisture. It is a considered structure, and it reads as a mask designed to replenish as much as to refine.

In use, that is exactly how it behaves. The cream is soft and cushioned, spreads in a generous layer and stays supple rather than setting, and the scent is the brand's: frankincense, Australian sandalwood and rose, warm and woody and unmistakable. A faint tingle across the nose in the first minute is all the acids announce themselves with. Fifteen minutes later it rinses away cleanly, and the skin underneath is smoother, faintly brighter and, unusually for an exfoliant, comfortable, with the light conditioning that the jojoba and fatty acids leave behind. There is no redness, no flaking, no purge; the second use feels like the first. Over three or four weeks of twice-weekly use, texture evens, pores look cleaner and the dullness that a PHA is best at lifting recedes. It is gradual, and it is meant to be. That pacing is the polyhydroxy acid's defining trait and worth understanding before buying. Gluconolactone's molecule is roughly twice the size of glycolic acid's, so it crosses the stratum corneum slowly and works mostly at the surface, loosening the bonds between the outermost cells rather than reaching down and triggering the inflammation that makes stronger acids visibly peel. The trade is speed for comfort: a PHA will never give the tight, glassy morning-after of a glycolic peel, and it will never give the redness either. Aesop has leaned all the way into that trade, and the low placement of the salicylic acid, which could have added bite, confirms the intention.

The other half of the question is harder on the product. Gluconolactone masks and PHA toners with the same logic sell for a fifth of the price, and several of them leave out the thing that is this mask's weakest feature: the perfume. Aesop's essential-oil accord brings limonene, linalool, citral, geraniol, citronellol and farnesol, six declared allergens on a product meant to sit on the face for a quarter of an hour, twice a week, over freshly cleansed and acid-loosened skin. For most people that is a pleasure; for fragrance-reactive, rosacea-prone or eczema-prone skin it undoes the gentleness the PHA worked to create. Soybean oil and oleic acid will also give fungal-acne-prone skin pause. And $97 for 60 mL, however long the jar lasts, is a serum price for a twice-weekly rinse-off.

What the money buys is not nothing. The formula is more complete than most PHA masks, with barrier lipids and vitamins at real positions rather than as label decoration, and the finish is the best argument for it: skin that has been exfoliated and does not feel it. The amber jar, the scent and the ritual are the Aesop experience, and people who buy Aesop are buying that on purpose. Judged as a luxury object that happens to contain a well-built gentle exfoliant, it succeeds. Judged as an exfoliant, it is very good, very expensive and, for reactive skin, unnecessarily perfumed.

A year and a half in, with modest review numbers and no published trial, the sensible read is this: for an Aesop loyalist who wants to retire the quartz scrub, it is the obvious upgrade and a kinder one. For everyone else, the science is available for far less, and the six years of development show mostly in the texture and the smell.

The science

The mask's lead active, gluconolactone, belongs to the polyhydroxy acid class whose clinical profile was set out by Grimes and colleagues in Cutis in 2004: PHAs provide exfoliation and skin-smoothing comparable to alpha hydroxy acids while causing markedly less stinging and irritation, act as humectants, and are suitable for sensitive and rosacea-prone skin (https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/15002656/). The same year Bernstein and colleagues reported in Dermatologic Surgery that gluconolactone protected against ultraviolet-induced damage in an in vitro model of photoaging, adding an antioxidant dimension to its exfoliating role (https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/14756648/). Its second position on this list is consistent with a working concentration, though Aesop does not disclose it.

Salicylic acid contributes a lipid-soluble exfoliant that penetrates the follicle; a comprehensive review in Clinical, Cosmetic and Investigational Dermatology in 2015 summarised its keratolytic, comedolytic and anti-inflammatory actions and its tolerability at low concentrations (https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/26347269/). Its position near the end of this list, after the preservative, indicates a supporting rather than treatment dose, in keeping with a mask designed for no downtime.

The replenishing claim rests on linoleic and other free fatty acids, panthenol and tocopherol, all recognised barrier-supporting and soothing ingredients, delivered here in a jojoba-and-triolein emollient base that leaves a lipid film after rinsing. What the formula has not been subjected to is a published trial: efficacy is inferred from the ingredient literature and Aesop's in-house testing, and the essential-oil fraction, with six declared fragrance allergens, is the component most likely to produce adverse reactions in the fifteen-minute contact time.

References 3 ShowHide
  1. The use of polyhydroxy acids (PHAs) in photoaged skin — Cutis (2004)
  2. The polyhydroxy acid gluconolactone protects against ultraviolet radiation in an in vitro model of cutaneous photoaging — Dermatologic Surgery (2004)
  3. Salicylic acid as a peeling agent: a comprehensive review — Clinical, Cosmetic and Investigational Dermatology (2015)

The clinical view

Polyhydroxy acids are the exfoliant class clinicians most readily suggest for patients who cannot tolerate glycolic or lactic acid, including those with sensitive skin, rosacea or a history of irritation from retinoids, and a rinse-off PHA mask with a low-dose BHA fits that guidance well. The usual advice is twice-weekly use at most, never on the same night as a retinoid or another acid, and daily sunscreen, since any hydroxy acid increases photosensitivity for days after use. The point on which most dermatologists would hesitate is the fragrance: essential oils with multiple declared allergens are a recognised cause of allergic contact dermatitis, and a product left on freshly cleansed skin for fifteen minutes gives them ample contact time, so patients with eczema, rosacea or known fragrance allergy are generally steered toward an unscented PHA product instead. For acne-prone patients, the mask's oils and oleic acid are noted as possible pore-cloggers, and a leave-on salicylic acid at a stated percentage is usually preferred for active breakouts.

Formula

Key ingredients

  1. Gluconolactone (PHA)

    Second on the list, directly after water, which for a polyhydroxy acid signals a real working dose rather than a garnish. Its large, slow-penetrating molecule is what lets a fifteen-minute rinse-off mask exfoliate without the sting an alpha hydroxy acid at the same position would bring, and it doubles as a humectant and antioxidant while it sits.

    Not yet assessed
  2. Salicylic Acid (BHA)

    The oil-soluble partner, placed low, just after the preservative, so it is a supporting dose rather than a treatment strength. In this emulsion it rides the jojoba and triolein oil phase into pores while the gluconolactone works the surface, which is the two-level exfoliation the product's name is about.

    Established mechanism for Rough Texture · established mechanism
  3. Linoleic Acid + Oleic, Linolenic and Palmitic Acids (Vitamin F)

    Free fatty acids scattered through the list, led by linoleic acid in eleventh place, which Aesop bundles as vitamin F. They are the barrier-replenishing counterweight to the acids, leaving a lipid trace after rinsing so the skin does not read the exfoliation as stripping.

    Not yet assessed
  4. Panthenol + Tocopherol (Vitamins B5 and E)

    The other two vitamins in the 'generous measures' claim, placed mid-list and in the oil phase respectively. Panthenol soothes and holds water in the freshly exfoliated surface; the tocopherol pair protects the plant oils from oxidising and adds antioxidant support to skin that acids have just made more receptive.

    Not yet assessed
  5. Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil + Triolein

    The emollient base, sixth and seventh on the list, that turns an acid mask into a cushioned cream. Jojoba's wax esters mimic sebum and triolein is a pure triglyceride, so the mask leaves skin soft rather than tight, an unusual finish for a chemical exfoliant.

    Not yet assessed
  6. Rosa Damascena Flower Oil + Fusanus Spicatus (Sandalwood) Wood Oil + Boswellia Carterii Oil

    The Aesop signature: frankincense, Australian sandalwood and rose damascena oils that make the mask smell like the brand's stores. They are the source of the six listed allergens at the end of the list and the one element of the formula that works against its gentleness.

    Not yet assessed
Full ingredient list 43 ingredients ShowHide

Water (Aqua), Gluconolactone, Propanediol, Glycerin, Coco-Caprylate/Caprate, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Triolein, Hydroxypropyl Starch Phosphate, Sodium Hydroxide, Xanthan Gum, Linoleic Acid, Bisabolol, Saccharide Isomerate, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Arachidyl Alcohol, Panthenol, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Behenyl Alcohol, Arachidyl Glucoside, Glyceryl Behenate, Phenoxyethanol, Salicylic Acid, Oleic Acid, Boswellia Carterii Oil, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Palmitic Acid, Fusanus Spicatus Wood Oil, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Stearic Acid, Rosa Damascena Flower Oil, Ethylhexylglycerin, Citric Acid, Linolenic Acid, Sodium Citrate, Vegetable Oil, Limonene, Farnesol, Citronellol, Geraniol, Citral, Linalool

Safety & formulation facts

  • Pregnancy safety unverified
  • Not fragrance free
  • Alcohol free
  • Not oil free
  • Silicone free
  • Paraben free
  • Sulfate free
  • Not cruelty free
  • Vegan
  • Not fungal-acne safe
Pore-clogging (comedogenic) Oleic AcidGlycine Soja (Soybean) Oil
Potential irritants Salicylic AcidBoswellia Carterii OilRosa Damascena Flower OilFusanus Spicatus Wood OilLimoneneLinaloolCitralGeraniolCitronellolFarnesol
Common allergens LimoneneLinaloolCitralGeraniolCitronellolFarnesolGlycine Soja (Soybean) Oil
Compatibility

Skin types & routine

Routine step treatment
Time of day Night
Best season All year
Finish satin, glowy

Layering

Twice a week on freshly cleansed, dry skin in the evening, left for up to fifteen minutes and rinsed with warm water; follow with a hydrating serum and moisturizer. Skip retinoids and other acids that night and keep it to once a week if using a daily leave-on acid.

When to expect results

Immediate: smoother, softer, faintly brighter skin after the first rinse without redness. With twice-weekly use, texture and dullness improve over three to four weeks and pores look cleaner; the PHA's gradual pace means the fullest change takes two months.

Pairs well with hyaluronic-acidniacinamideceramidessunscreen
Don't combine with retinolglycolic-acidvitamin-cbenzoyl-peroxide

A routine built around it

Morning

  1. Gentle cleanser
  2. Antioxidant serum
  3. Moisturizer
  4. Sunscreen SPF 30+

Night

  1. Cleansing oil or gentle cleanser
  2. THIS PRODUCT twice weekly, 15 minutes, rinse
  3. Hydrating serum
  4. Moisturizer
Guidance

How to use it, and who it's for

How to use

Twice a week in the evening, cleanse and pat the skin dry, then spread a generous, even layer over the face and neck with fingertips, avoiding the eye area and lips. Leave it for up to fifteen minutes; a faint tingle in the first minute is normal, but persistent stinging means rinsing early. Remove with warm water and a soft cloth, pat dry and follow with a hydrating serum and moisturizer, skipping retinoids and other acids that night. Wear sunscreen the following mornings, as with any hydroxy acid. Start with once a week for two weeks if your skin is reactive or new to acids, and patch-test behind the ear first if you react to fragrance. Scoop with clean fingers or a spatula and close the lid firmly to protect the oils.

Is it worth the price?

Ninety-seven dollars for 60 mL is a serum price for a twice-weekly rinse-off mask, and there is no larger size to improve the maths; the jar's three-month life brings the monthly cost to a little over thirty dollars, which is what the actives alone would cost for a year elsewhere. The formula justifies part of that with its completeness, the barrier lipids and vitamins at real positions and the cushioned, non-stripping finish, and Aesop's four decades and L'Oréal's laboratory backing support the consistency of what is in the jar. The rest is scent, packaging and the brand, which is what Aesop customers are knowingly paying for. As a gentle exfoliant on its merits, the value is poor; as an Aesop product replacing the brand's physical scrub, it is the sensible choice within the range.

Who should buy it

Aesop devotees who want a gentler alternative to the brand's quartz exfoliant paste, and anyone with normal, combination or mildly sensitive skin who wants a cushioned, no-downtime acid mask and enjoys a woody essential-oil scent. It suits people who prefer gradual smoothing and brightness to visible peeling.

Who should skip it

Anyone whose skin reacts to fragrance, and anyone with rosacea or eczema, should avoid a fifteen-minute mask with six declared allergens, and fungal-acne-prone skin may object to the soybean oil and oleic acid. Anyone who simply wants an effective PHA or BHA exfoliant can find the same actives unscented for a fraction of the price.

Ready to try it?Aesop Lucent Facial Refiner · $97.00 · 60 mL (2 fl oz)
Details

The product, in detail

Texture
A soft, ivory cream-gel with a faint slip from the olivate emulsifiers and starch, spreading in a cushioned layer that stays tacky rather than setting hard, and rinsing away cleanly to leave a lightly conditioned surface.
Scent
Aesop's frankincense-sandalwood-rose accord, warm, woody and faintly sweet, clearly present on the face for the fifteen minutes and fading after rinsing.
Packaging
A squat 60 mL amber glass jar with a black screw lid and Aesop's cream-and-black label; the dark glass shields the plant oils from light, and the jar dispenses a generous mask layer easily, though a spatula keeps fingers out of a product used over months.
How long it lasts
About three months at a generous layer twice a week from the 60 mL jar.
Once opened
Use within 6 months · track your toss-by date →
Size
60 mL (2 fl oz)
Made in
Australia
Launched
2025

What the first two weeks feel like

The first application is calmer than the acid label suggests: a soft, scented cream that may tingle faintly for a minute on the nose and then settles, rinsing off to skin that is smooth, comfortable and slightly radiant. There is no peeling or purge, and the second and third uses feel the same, which is the PHA's point.

The story behind it

Why it exists

Aesop resisted chemical exfoliants for decades, relying on its Purifying Facial Exfoliant Paste and Parsley Seed Cleansing Masque, and only after L'Oréal's 2023 acquisition did the Melbourne laboratory release the PHA-and-BHA mask it had been developing for six years. Launched in 2025 as an alternative to physical exfoliation, Lucent Facial Refiner joined the Lucent Facial Concentrate to form a brightening duo in the brand's range.

About Aesop Legacy Brand (20+ years)

Aesop has formulated in Melbourne since 1987 and was acquired by L'Oréal in 2023, which adds the group's testing resources to an in-house laboratory that had already spent six years on this product. The brand's credibility rests on nearly four decades of consistent formulation and independent retail scrutiny rather than on dermatological development or published clinical trials.

Brand founded 1987 · This product since 2025

Myth vs. reality

What people get wrong about it

MythA mask with both BHA and PHA must be a strong peel.

RealityGluconolactone is the gentlest of the hydroxy acids, with a large molecule that penetrates slowly, and the salicylic acid here sits low on the list at a supporting dose. The mask is designed for twice-weekly use with no downtime, and its effect is gradual smoothing rather than visible peeling.

MythBecause the formula is plant-based and vegan, it is safe for reactive skin.

RealityThe frankincense, sandalwood and rose oils bring six listed fragrance allergens, and the salicylic acid adds a mild irritant. Botanical origin has no bearing on allergenicity, and rosacea-prone or fragrance-sensitive skin should patch-test.

FAQ

Questions people ask

How often should I use the Aesop Lucent Facial Refiner?

Aesop recommends twice a week on freshly cleansed skin, left for up to fifteen minutes and rinsed with warm water. Once a week is plenty if you also use a daily leave-on acid or a retinoid, and the mask should not be used on the same night as either.

What acids are in the Aesop Lucent Facial Refiner, and how strong is it?

Gluconolactone, a polyhydroxy acid, is the second ingredient and does most of the work; salicylic acid sits much lower as a supporting BHA. Aesop does not disclose percentages, but the order and the no-downtime positioning mark it as a gentle, gradual exfoliant rather than a peel.

Is the Aesop Lucent Facial Refiner suitable for sensitive skin?

The PHA base, jojoba, panthenol and bisabolol make it one of the gentler acid masks, but the frankincense, sandalwood and rose oils carry six fragrance allergens. Sensitive skin that tolerates Aesop's other scented products will likely be fine; fragrance-reactive or rosacea-prone skin should patch-test first.

Can I use Lucent Facial Refiner with the Lucent Facial Concentrate?

Yes, Aesop sells them as a duo. Use the Refiner twice a week in the evening, rinse, then apply the Concentrate or another hydrating serum; on the other nights the Concentrate alone. Avoid adding a separate acid or retinol on Refiner nights.

Is the Aesop Lucent Facial Refiner worth $97?

It is a well-built, gentle PHA-and-BHA mask with genuine barrier lipids and Aesop's scent and packaging, and a jar lasts about three months. The formula's actives are available far cheaper elsewhere, so the price buys the sensorial experience and the brand as much as the exfoliation.

Does the Aesop Lucent Facial Refiner replace the Purifying Facial Exfoliant Paste?

It is designed as the chemical alternative to Aesop's physical exfoliants. The Paste scrubs with quartz particles; the Refiner dissolves surface cells with acids and leaves skin more conditioned, which most people, especially those with sensitive or acne-prone skin, will find gentler.

Reviews

What shoppers tend to say

Recurring themes our editors read across retailer reviews — summaries in our words, not quotations, and not a substitute for a patch test.

Common praise

  • Smooth, bright skin with no sting or redness
  • Cushioned, creamy texture that does not dry down
  • Signature woody-rose scent

Common complaints

  • Price for 60 mL
  • Fragrance on reactive skin
  • Effect is subtle compared with stronger acids
Notable endorsementsAesop's first formulation to combine BHA and PHA, developed over six years in its Melbourne laboratory and launched in 2025Covered by CosmeticsDesign-Asia as an alternative to physical exfoliants
Next stepCheck it against what you already useClashes, spacing and the right order, with everything on your shelf.