Nuxe Nuxuriance Ultra Alfa [3R] The Exceptional Day & Night Cream 75 ml green glass jar with gold lid
Supporting role for Aging
What makes this different

It is the only cream in the Nuxuriance Ultra range that carries an ingredient with controlled clinical evidence — niacinamide, placed eighth, ahead of the shea butter — and the only one built as a single day-and-night formula, in a 75 ml jar that costs less per millilitre than the 50 ml creams it sits above. The 'exceptional' label is marketing; the niacinamide is the actual difference.

Nuxe

Nuxe Nuxuriance Ultra Alfa [3R] - The Exceptional Day & Night Cream Review

Niacinamide-Led Prestige Cream Moisturizers cream pharmacy brand Paraben free Cruelty free Vegan

The first Nuxuriance Ultra cream with a real active: niacinamide eighth in the list, ahead of the shea, in a supple day-and-night emollient that costs less per millilitre than the 50 ml creams beneath it. Within the range it is the one to buy. Against the market it is $109 for an undisclosed dose in a seven-allergen floral — prestige texture and scent, with the brightening chemistry finally along for the ride.

Price $109.00 75 ml / 2.5 fl oz
Shopper rating 4.7 ★★★★★ 61 reviews
On the market 2025 Made in France
Buy at Amazon ♥
Verdicts

How well it fits each concern

With 61 reviews averaging 4.7 on the brand's French site since its February 2025 US launch, and a US review widget that could not be read this session, this cream has a modest, self-selected track record; every efficacy figure is a satisfaction percentage from a usage panel of 20 to 32 volunteers with no control arm. The niacinamide dose is undisclosed and the botanical trio has only an in-vitro footnote, so the assessment weighs the published niacinamide literature and the disclosed list rather than data on this formula.

One verdict per concern. Open a row for the reasoning; the receipt has every source.

The scaleRecommendedGoodSupportingEarly evidenceNot for thisAvoidhow it works

Supporting rolefor AgingNiacinamide has early evidence for aging, and hydration and barrier support is the recognised companion to treating it — a reasonable supporting choice, short of a recommendation.Receipt6 sources on the row · concentration not declared; studied range 4–5% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R8a, same reading on 1,509 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Niacinamide has early or mechanistic evidence for this concern, not trial-backed standing.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Moderate evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Supporting role” is the verdict on 7,796 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R8a decided 1,509 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All aging products →

Good choicefor DrynessShea Butter is a reference standard by mechanism for dryness; this cream carries it.Receipt2 sources on the row · concentration not declared; studied range 1–100% · row checked Jul 17, 2026 · rule R5, same reading on 9,843 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Shea Butter + Jojoba Seed Oil + Squalane is a reference standard by mechanism for this concern — an established physical action, not a trial result.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Limited evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

Cautions: fragrance.

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Good choice” is the verdict on 10,340 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R5 decided 9,843 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All dryness products →

Good choicefor HyperpigmentationNiacinamide is a trial-supported active for hyperpigmentation; this cream carries it, though the concentration is not declared.Receipt10 sources on the row · rule R5, same reading on 9,843 products · open the receipt

The case for it

  1. Niacinamide has trial-supported standing for this concern.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries no trigger this concern is sensitive to, with the cautions noted.

Moderate evidenceStandard tolerabilityNo reviews read yet

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Good choice” is the verdict on 10,340 of 45,446 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R5 decided 9,843 of them. Unchanged since September 25, 2026, engine 5.2.0.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

The full receipt: rule, row, sources, dates →All hyperpigmentation products →How hyperpigmentation is treated →

Also listed for Dullness — the actives here (Emollient Esters, Niacinamide, Film Formers & Texture Polymers, Botanical Extracts) are in our research queue for that concern; there is no verdict until their evidence rows are written. That is a gap in our table, not a mark against the product.

Does the jobDoes what a moisturizer is for: draws in water, softens and smooths.

A verdict is Dermington’s assessment of how well a product’s ingredients fit a concern — never a claim about what the product treats. Evidence dots and collected reviews sit beside it and are never blended in. Rules 0.5.1 · evidence table ev-2026.10-r231 · engine 5.2.0 · how we decide · this product’s receipt

Reader poll · Town SquareQuestion 1 of up to 3

Have you used Nuxuriance Ultra Alfa [3R] - The Exceptional Day & Night Cream?

One tap counts. A couple of optional follow-ups come next.

No account neededOne answer each, change it any timeCounted only in anonymous totalsHow the Square counts →
Assessment

Pros & cons

What it does well 7

  • Niacinamide eighth in the list — the range's first ingredient with controlled clinical evidence
  • One supple formula that works morning under sunscreen and evening on its own
  • Cheaper per millilitre than the 50 ml Nuxuriance Ultra creams despite the higher price
  • Coco-caprylate slip and cellulose finish sink in fast and hold makeup
  • Shea, jojoba and squalane at moderate levels — comfortable without weight
  • Layers with vitamin C, acids and retinoids; nothing in it conflicts
  • Sixty-one French-site reviews averaging 4.7, the deepest record in the range

Where it falls short 6

  • Niacinamide percentage undisclosed — position hints at a working dose, nothing confirms it
  • Parfum thirteenth with seven declared allergens, applied twice daily
  • Alfa [3R] trio still sits after the preservatives; the brackets carry no evidence
  • Not rich enough for very dry skin in winter
  • All efficacy figures are satisfaction percentages from 20–32 volunteers
  • $109 remains a prestige price for an emollient with one active
Review

The full review

The most expensive cream in the Nuxuriance Ultra range is the cheapest one to buy. One hundred and nine dollars for 75 millilitres works out to about $1.45 a millilitre; the three 50 ml creams beneath it, at $86 each, come to $1.72. The 'deluxe format' is not a premium, it is a volume discount with a gold lid — and the sleight is easy to miss because the word 'exceptional' and the higher sticker point the mind the other way. Once that is clear, the more interesting arithmetic starts, because this jar also does something none of the others do: it puts an ingredient with controlled clinical evidence in the top ten.

That ingredient is niacinamide, eighth on the label, ahead of the shea butter, the jojoba and the squalane. Nuxe's flagship anti-aging line has run since 2016 on plant-oil emollience and, since the 2024 rebuild, on a trademarked trio of alfalfa, hyaluronic acid and daylily that sits — here as in every sibling — after the preservatives. Comfort, the line could always deliver; radiance and evenness it could only assert. Vitamin B3 changes that. The best-known trial, a 50-woman split-face study of 5 percent niacinamide against its vehicle over twelve weeks, measured reductions in fine lines, hyperpigmented spots, red blotchiness and sallowness, and an improvement in elasticity by cutometer. Nuxe does not disclose its percentage, and a position ahead of the shea suggests a working dose without proving it reaches five; a brand that footnotes its panels this carefully could footnote a number, and its absence is the one place the transparency slips. But for the first time in this range the direction of a claim — 'more luminous', 'more even' — has a mechanism in the jar to point to, rather than a bracket.

The cream itself is built to be worn at both ends of the day, and it is. Coco-caprylate, second, gives a fast, dry slip; a light triglyceride blend at sixth carries it; shea, jojoba and squalane sit at ninth, eleventh and twelfth — present enough to keep a barrier comfortable overnight, restrained enough that combination skin can wear it under sunscreen without shine. Microcrystalline cellulose at fourteenth does the rest, blurring the surface into the 'smoothed for 88 percent immediately' the brand quotes, and holding makeup. It is a supple, medium-weight cream that looks richer in the jar than it feels on the face, and it genuinely resolves the day-cream-versus-night-cream question for normal, combination and moderately dry skin. Very dry winter skin will want the rich version at night; oily skin will find it wearable, which is not something to say about the rest of the line. The jar, at 75 ml, is also simply the right size for a product used twice a day on face and neck: three months of use before the pump-or-jar question even arises, though a spatula remains wise with this much plant oil in an open pot.

The panel figures deserve the usual reading. Thirty-two volunteers felt skin looked smoothed at once; thirty-one felt it seemed firmer after a week; twenty felt wrinkles looked smoothed, skin more luminous and more even after a month; thirty said nine in ten would choose it. These are satisfaction percentages with no control, footnoted honestly and dated July 2024, and 'firmer at seven days' is the feeling of a well-hydrated surface, not a change in the dermis — the clinical niacinamide data on elasticity took twelve weeks. The luminosity and evenness numbers are the ones with a plausible active behind them, and even those describe an impression at 28 days rather than a measurement. Sixty-one French-site reviews averaging 4.7 are the deepest record in the range and still a self-selected one.

The fragrance is the constant. Parfum sits thirteenth with seven declared allergen components — linalool, coumarin, hydroxycitronellal, geraniol, citronellol, rose ketones and a musk — and this cream is applied twice a day, which doubles the exposure of its siblings. Nuxe counts the scent as part of the product's effectiveness, and for the customer who buys the house for the ritual it is. For rosacea-prone, eczema-prone or fragrance-reactive skin it makes 'suitable for all skin types' a statement about texture rather than tolerance, and it is a pity, because the niacinamide is exactly the ingredient that skin would benefit from. The 95-percent-natural-origin figure is real and irrelevant to that calculation.

So what does 'exceptional' cover? A larger jar at a lower unit price; one formula instead of two; and the range's first evidenced active, at an undisclosed dose, in a base that is pleasant, versatile and scented. Within Nuxuriance Ultra it is the plain recommendation — the only cream where the money buys chemistry as well as comfort. Against the broader market it is a prestige emollient with niacinamide, priced for the house and the glass, and a person shopping on evidence alone can find the same active, disclosed and unfragranced, for a fraction. The honest position is both at once: buy this one if you are buying Nuxe, and know precisely which eighth-place ingredient you are paying for.

The science

The claim that separates this cream from the rest of its range — radiance and a more even tone — rests on niacinamide, and the evidence for topical niacinamide on photoaged facial skin is unusually good for a cosmetic ingredient. In a 2005 paper in Dermatologic Surgery, Bissett, Oblong and Berge reported a double-blind, left-right randomised study in which 50 women with clinical signs of photoaging applied 5 percent niacinamide to one half of the face and its vehicle to the other, twice daily for 12 weeks, with facial imaging and instrumental measures at four-week intervals. The niacinamide side showed significant reductions in fine lines and wrinkles, hyperpigmented spots, red blotchiness and sallowness, and an improvement in elasticity measured by cutometry. The proposed mechanisms — inhibition of melanosome transfer from melanocytes to keratinocytes, increased dermal collagen and epidermal barrier protein synthesis via the NAD-dependent pathways niacinamide feeds, and reduced glycation-related yellowing — are consistent with the 'more luminous' and 'more even' impressions Nuxe's panel reported at 28 days. Two caveats apply directly to this product: the trial used a disclosed 5 percent, and this cream's dose is unstated, though its eighth position ahead of the shea butter argues for a functional rather than token level; and the trial's endpoints were reached at 8 to 12 weeks, so the brand's one-month satisfaction figures describe an earlier, perceptual stage.

The emollient system supports rather than competes with the active. Coco-caprylate and C10-18 triglycerides are dry-feel esters that carry the cream and set the slip; shea butter, jojoba seed oil and squalane at ninth through twelfth supply occlusive triglycerides, sebum-like wax esters and a saturated hydrocarbon that together lower transepidermal water loss without the heaviness of the rich version; glycerin at third is the humectant beneath them; avocado and rosehip oils add oleic, linoleic and alpha-linolenic acids for the barrier's lamellar lipids; tocopherol near the end stabilises them. Niacinamide is itself a barrier-supporting ingredient, increasing ceramide and free fatty acid synthesis in keratinocytes, so its pairing with a lipid base is coherent. Microcrystalline cellulose and cellulose gum provide the immediate optical smoothing.

The Alfa [3R] trio — hyaluronic acid twenty-first, alfalfa (Medicago sativa) extract twenty-fourth, daylily (Hemerocallis fulva) extract twenty-sixth — sits after the preservatives; the hyaluronic acid is a surface humectant at that level, and the brand's own footnote for the trio's mechanism is an in-vitro test. Seven fragrance allergens are declared, applied twice daily as a leave-on.

References 1 ShowHide
  1. Niacinamide: A B vitamin that improves aging facial skin appearance — Dermatologic Surgery (2005)

The clinical view

From a clinical standpoint this is the Nuxuriance Ultra cream with something to discuss: niacinamide has the best evidence base of any over-the-counter brightening and barrier ingredient short of retinoids, it is well tolerated at 4 to 5 percent, and its placement ahead of the shea butter here suggests a meaningful level even though the brand withholds the number. Dermatology would treat the emollient base as sound, the two-a-day format as sensible for adherence, and the trademarked trio as branding. The standard advice attaches: niacinamide's evenness benefit is only as good as the sunscreen worn over it, and the 12-week clinical timeline should temper any expectation from a 28-day panel. The reservation, as with the whole range, is the fragrance — seven declared allergens applied twice daily — which would steer rosacea, eczema and contact-dermatitis patients toward an unscented niacinamide moisturizer that delivers the same active with a disclosed dose. For a tolerant patient committed to the brand, it is the reasonable choice within it.

Formula

Key ingredients

  1. Niacinamide

    Eighth in the list, ahead of the shea butter — the first time an ingredient with controlled clinical evidence for photoaged skin appears in a Nuxuriance Ultra cream, and the reason this 'exceptional' edition can honestly claim radiance and evenness where its siblings could only claim comfort; the percentage is undisclosed, though its position suggests a working dose rather than a whisper.

    Emerging for Hyperpigmentation
  2. Coco-Caprylate + C10-18 Triglycerides

    Second and sixth — a fast-spreading, dry-feel coconut-derived ester and a light triglyceride blend that give the 'universal texture' its slip and make one cream plausible for both morning under sunscreen and evening on its own; the reason this can be a day-and-night product rather than two.

    Not yet assessed
  3. Shea Butter + Jojoba Seed Oil + Squalane

    Ninth, eleventh and twelfth — the range's lipid trio, here placed at moderate levels behind the niacinamide so the cream nourishes without the weight of the rich version: enough occlusion and sebum-mimicking lipid to keep a barrier comfortable overnight, light enough that oily skin can wear it by day.

    Established mechanism for Dryness · established mechanism
  4. Alfa [3R] Technology (Alfalfa Extract + Hyaluronic Acid + Daylily Extract)

    Hyaluronic acid twenty-first, alfalfa twenty-fourth, daylily twenty-sixth — the trademarked trio behind the [R]evitalise / [R]enew / [R]esurface promise, positioned after the preservatives; the in-vitro footnote is the brand's own, and what this cream can show on skin is the niacinamide eighteen places above them.

    Not yet assessed
  5. Microcrystalline Cellulose + Cellulose Gum

    Fourteenth and twenty-fifth — plant-cellulose micro-particles and a cellulose film-former that mattify the surface and give the 'skin looks smoothed for 88 percent' immediate effect its optical basis; they are also what lets the cream take makeup in the morning.

    Not yet assessed
  6. Fragrance (Parfum, 7 declared allergens)

    Thirteenth, with linalool, coumarin, hydroxycitronellal, geraniol, citronellol, rose ketones and a musk closing the list — the 'modern, sophisticated feminine' scent that the brand counts as part of the efficacy, worn twice a day; the one ingredient that keeps 'suitable for all skin types' from being literally true.

    Not yet assessed
Full ingredient list 37 ingredients ShowHide

Aqua (Water), Coco-Caprylate, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate Citrate, Behenyl Alcohol, C10-18 Triglycerides, Cetearyl Alcohol, Niacinamide, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Pentylene Glycol, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Squalane, Parfum (Fragrance), Microcrystalline Cellulose, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Sodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Xanthan Gum, Ethylhexylglycerin, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Hyaluronic Acid, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Sodium Gluconate, Medicago Sativa (Alfalfa) Extract, Cellulose Gum, Hemerocallis Fulva Extract, Citric Acid, Tropolone, Tocopherol, Tetramethyl Acetyloctahydronaphthalenes, Linalool, Coumarin, Hydroxycitronellal, Geraniol, Citronellol, Rose Ketones

Safety & formulation facts

  • Pregnancy safe
  • Not fragrance free
  • Alcohol free
  • Not oil free
  • Silicone free
  • Paraben free
  • Sulfate free
  • Cruelty free
  • Vegan
  • Not fungal-acne safe
Pore-clogging (comedogenic) Butyrospermum Parkii ButterPersea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil
Potential irritants ParfumLinaloolCoumarinHydroxycitronellalGeraniolCitronellolRose KetonesTetramethyl Acetyloctahydronaphthalenes
Common allergens LinaloolCoumarinHydroxycitronellalGeraniolCitronellol
Compatibility

Skin types & routine

Routine step moisturizer
Time of day Morning & night
Best season All year
Finish satin, natural

Layering

Morning and evening after a serum, with sunscreen over it by day — the cream has no SPF and the niacinamide's evenness claim depends on one. The niacinamide layers happily with vitamin C, acids and a retinoid applied beneath; the only thing to keep apart from it is a second high-dose niacinamide product, which adds nothing.

When to expect results

Smoother-looking skin at once — 88 percent of a 32-person panel said so — from the cellulose finish and the emollient slip. The niacinamide's work takes longer: the brand's 20-person panel reported skin more luminous for 100 percent and more even for 90 percent at 28 days, and the published clinical evidence for topical niacinamide shows measurable reductions in fine lines and hyperpigmented spots at 8 to 12 weeks of twice-daily use. Firmness at seven days is self-perceived comfort, not a structural change.

Pairs well with sunscreenserumretinoidvitamin-c

A routine built around it

Morning

  1. Gentle cleanser
  2. Vitamin C or hydrating serum
  3. Nuxe Nuxuriance Ultra Alfa [3R] - The Exceptional Day & Night Creamthis product
  4. Sunscreen

Night

  1. Cleanser
  2. Retinoid or serum
  3. Nuxe Nuxuriance Ultra Alfa [3R] - The Exceptional Day & Night Creamthis product
Guidance

How to use it, and who it's for

How to use

Both ends of the day, once the face is clean and any serum has gone in. Take a small amount, warm it briefly, and apply with flat hands from the centre of the face outward, avoiding the eye contour, then continue over the neck and décolleté and massage until absorbed. In the morning, Nuxe suggests finishing with light fingertip tapping across the face, then allowing a minute or two before sunscreen — which is compulsory over a niacinamide cream if the evenness benefit is to hold. In the evening, rest warm palms on the cheeks, forehead, chin and the centre of the face in turn. A brief warm flush in the first few uses can be the niacinamide and passes in minutes; a flush that persists or itches is the fragrance, and the signal to stop. Use a spatula rather than fingers, keep the lid tight, and expect about three months from the jar.

Is it worth the price?

The unit maths is the surprise: $109 for 75 ml is about $1.45 a millilitre, against $1.72 for each of the range's $86 50 ml creams, so the 'deluxe' jar is the discount, and the three-month duration at twice-daily use puts it near $1.20 a day. Within Nuxuriance Ultra that makes it the clear buy — the only cream carrying an evidenced active and the cheapest per millilitre. Against the wider market the picture is the usual one for a French prestige house: a pleasant, versatile, vegan and 95-percent-natural-origin emollient with niacinamide at an undisclosed level, a floral with seven allergens, a glass jar and a name, at a price where disclosed-dose, unfragranced niacinamide creams cost a fraction. Fair value for a Nuxe customer choosing between the brand's own creams; a prestige premium for anyone else.

Who should buy it

Normal, combination and moderately dry skin that wants one prestige cream for both ends of the day, cares about radiance and evenness as much as comfort, tolerates fragrance, and would rather buy the one Nuxuriance Ultra cream with an evidenced active than any of its siblings. Existing Nuxe customers upgrading from the 50 ml creams get more for their money here.

Who should skip it

Rosacea-prone, eczema-prone or fragrance-reactive skin — seven declared allergens twice a day outweigh the niacinamide's benefit for them; very dry winter skin, which needs the richer sibling at night; and anyone who wants a disclosed niacinamide percentage, which this jar will not give at any price.

Ready to try it?Nuxe Nuxuriance Ultra Alfa [3R] - The Exceptional Day & Night Cream · $109.00 · 75 ml / 2.5 fl oz
Details

The product, in detail

Texture
A supple, medium-weight cream — lighter than it looks in the jar — that glides on the coco-caprylate, sinks in within a minute or two and leaves a soft, satin-matte surface that neither shines at noon nor feels absent at bedtime
Scent
Sophisticated floral-musk — rosier and slightly greener than the standard cream's — fully present on application and settling to a faint trace by the time makeup goes on
Packaging
A wider 75 ml green glass jar with a gold screw lid, boxed; the 'deluxe format' is a bigger version of the range's jar rather than a new design, with the usual jar caveat of fingers in a cream with plant oils
How long it lasts
About three months used morning and night on the face; nearer two if the neck and décolleté are included each time
Once opened
Use within 12 months · track your toss-by date →
Size
75 ml / 2.5 fl oz
Made in
France
Launched
2025
Certifications
Vegan · 95% natural-origin ingredients · Made in France

What the first two weeks feel like

Immediately, skin looks smoother and slightly blurred from the cellulose, and the cream disappears fast enough that it can go straight under sunscreen. Over the first week most people notice nothing beyond comfort; a few with reactive skin notice a warm flush from the fragrance and should stop there. Niacinamide at a working dose can cause a brief, harmless flush in the first uses on some faces — it fades within minutes and is not a reason to discontinue. Brightening, if it comes, is a three-to-eight-week story.

The story behind it

Why it exists

Nuxuriance Ultra has been Nuxe's flagship anti-aging line since 2016, and its 2024 rebuild around Alfa [3R] was followed in February 2025 by this 'exceptional' edition: a deluxe-format cream that merges the day and night products and adds niacinamide, the brand's first evidenced brightening active in the range. It reached the US site at $109, positioned as the top of the trio.

About Nuxe Legacy Brand (20+ years)

Nuxe has sold plant-oil skincare through French pharmacies since 1989 and is best known for Huile Prodigieuse; its anti-aging claims rest on small in-house satisfaction panels, disclosed in footnotes, rather than on independent or controlled trials. The company publishes complete ingredient lists and natural-origin percentages for every product.

Brand founded 1989 · This product since 2025

Myth vs. reality

What people get wrong about it

Myth'Skin seems firmer for 90% of women from 7 days' means it firms skin in a week.

RealityNothing firms skin in a week. The footnote is a satisfaction percentage from 31 volunteers, and what they felt is the tighter, more comfortable surface a well-hydrated emollient produces. Niacinamide's measured effect on elasticity in the clinical literature took twelve weeks of twice-daily 5 percent use, and this cream does not disclose its dose.

MythThe Alfa [3R] technology is what makes this cream 'exceptional'.

RealityThe trio — hyaluronic acid, alfalfa and daylily — sits twenty-first to twenty-sixth, after the preservatives, in the same place as in every other Nuxuriance Ultra cream. What is new here is niacinamide at eighth position. If the cream brightens and evens skin, the vitamin B3 is doing it, not the brackets.

FAQ

Questions people ask

What makes the Nuxe Exceptional Day & Night Cream different from the other Nuxuriance Ultra creams?

Two things: it adds niacinamide at eighth in the list, ahead of the shea butter, which none of the 50 ml creams contain, and it is built as one formula for both morning and evening in a 75 ml jar. The Alfa [3R] trio, fragrance and lipid base are shared with the rest of the range.

How much niacinamide is in the Nuxe Exceptional cream?

Nuxe does not disclose the percentage. Its eighth position — ahead of the shea butter, jojoba and squalane — points to a functional level rather than a token one, but there is no way to confirm whether it reaches the 4 to 5 percent used in the published clinical trials of topical niacinamide.

Is the Nuxe Exceptional Day & Night Cream worth $109?

Per millilitre it is cheaper than the 50 ml Nuxuriance Ultra creams — about $1.45 versus $1.72 — and it is the only one carrying an evidenced brightening active, so within the range it is the best value. Against the wider market, $109 for an undisclosed niacinamide dose in a fragranced emollient is a prestige price for texture, scent and the name.

Can I use the Nuxe Exceptional cream under sunscreen and makeup?

Yes — the coco-caprylate slip and the cellulose finish make it sink in within a couple of minutes and hold makeup well, and the brand positions it as a morning cream. It has no SPF, and since niacinamide's evenness benefit is undone by unprotected sun, a sunscreen over it is not optional.

Does the Nuxe Exceptional cream suit sensitive skin?

The niacinamide and lipids would, but parfum sits thirteenth with seven declared allergens, including coumarin, hydroxycitronellal and rose ketones, applied twice a day. Rosacea-prone, eczema-prone and fragrance-reactive skin should treat 'suitable for all skin types' as a texture statement and choose an unscented niacinamide cream.

How long before the Nuxe Exceptional cream shows results?

Smoother-looking skin is immediate, from the cellulose finish. Brightening and evenness from niacinamide take three to eight weeks of twice-daily use in the clinical literature; Nuxe's own panel reported luminosity for 100 percent and evenness for 90 percent at 28 days. Perceived firmness at a week is hydration, not structure.

Reviews

What shoppers tend to say

Recurring themes our editors read across retailer reviews — summaries in our words, not quotations, and not a substitute for a patch test.

Common praise

  • One cream that works morning and night without adjustment
  • Skin looks brighter and more even after a few weeks
  • Universal texture — comfortable on dry skin, not heavy on combination
  • Generous 75 ml jar and a beautiful scent

Common complaints

  • $109 is a lot for an undisclosed niacinamide percentage
  • Fragrance is too present for reactive skin
  • Not rich enough for very dry skin in winter
  • Firming is a feeling rather than a visible change
Notable endorsementsBrand-run usage panels (July 2024): skin looked smoothed immediately for 88% (N=32); seemed firmer at 7 days for 90% (N=31); at 28 days wrinkles appeared smoothed for 87%, skin more luminous for 100%, more even for 90% (N=20); 9 of 10 would choose it (N=30) — satisfaction percentages, no control
Next stepCheck it against what you already useClashes, spacing and the right order, with everything on your shelf.